Dale Hawkins Daredevil

LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $13.10 Limited Time Only
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $1.88 (13% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  FC7W
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1997
  • Label: Norton


  • 1.Susie-Q - (1956 demo version)
  • 2.If You Please Me
  • 3.Number Nine Train
  • 4.Everglades
  • 5.Daredevil
  • 6.Wish I Hadn't Called Home
  • 7.Superman
  • 8.On Account of You
  • 9.Hey Pretty Baby
  • 10.I Can't Stand Your Ways Anymore
  • 11.Mumbly Peg
  • 12.Weep No More

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Dale Hawkins (vocals, guitar, harmonica); Margaret Lewis (vocals); James Burton, Carl Adams, Roy Buchanan (guitar); Sheldon Bazzelle (saxophone); Shorty Tony, Marc Mathis (bass); D.J. Fontana (drums); Roger Miller, Donnie Ray White, Maylon Humphries.
Includes liner notes by Billy Miller and Dale Hawkins.
Personnel: Dale Hawkins (vocals, guitar).
These 12 tracks, compiled from Hawkins' own personal stash of well-worn acetates, brings together the rarest of the rare of this Louisiana rockabilly songwriter/producer. The centerpiece of this 12-track collection is the first-time appearance of the original 1956 demo version of Dale's big hit, "Susie-Q." Recorded by country songwriter Merle Kilgore -- then a disc jockey at KENT in Shreveport -- the original demo is looser and faster than the better-known hit version, moved along with two raw guitar solos from a 16-year-old James Burton (this now becoming his debut recording) and a surprise solo from saxman Sheldon Bazelle. The sound is raw and over-amped, the feel of a band taking a bandstand jam and trying to shape it into something that would fit onto one side of a phonograph record. The flip side of this scratchy 78 acetate is perhaps an even bigger surprise, Hawkins and band playing an impromptu slow blues entitled "If You Please Me" with Burton spraying licks all over the place, Dale mumbling a hastily assembled vocal, and no clear-cut ending. Equally fine is a version of Tarheel Slim's "Number Nine Train" featuring explosive guitar work from Carl Adams and the rare appearance of a slappin' upright bass (played by Bossier Strip regular Shorty Tony) on a Dale Hawkins record. This collection also features Hawkins in a supporting role picking guitar behind local boy vocalist Donnie Ray White and Nashville buddy Roger Miller, while his original band moonlights behind Maylon Humphries on "Weep No More," another cowbell rocker, this time in a minor key. Another noteworthy inclusion is "Superman," featuring Margaret Lewis on backup vocal, Roy Buchanan on guitar, and D.J. Fontana on drums. The title track, a wild instrumental with Adams driving the band on an agitated riff, later became the blueprint for "Lovin' Bug." Later cuts from the early '60s flesh things out (the gospel-styled "Everglades," "On Account of You," "Hey Pretty Baby," "Mumbly Peg"), but these half-dozen tracks -- and especially the "Susie-Q" demo -- are the main reasons to grab this one and add it to the MCA-Chess best-of compilation. ~ Cub Koda

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Dale Hawkins

Product Info

  • UPC: 731253025624
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)
Memorial Day: 10am-6pm