Dar Williams Out There Live

Out There Live
32 ratings
Sale: $16.17
SUPER SAVINGS: $12.46 Limited Time Only
You Save: $3.71 (23% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  9C9C
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: September 25, 2001
  • Label: Razor & Tie

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 1/02, p.108
3 out of 5 stars - "...coffe-house folk...one of the contemporary roots scene's classier storytellers..."


  • 1.As Cool as I Am
  • 2.If I Wrote You
  • 3.Spring Street
  • 4.I Won't Be Your Yoko Ono Intro
  • 5.I Won't Be Your Yoko Ono
  • 6.February
  • 7.The Ocean
  • 8.Better Things
  • 9.Iowa
  • 10.End of the Summer
  • 11.We Learned the Sea
  • 12.Are You Out There Intro
  • 13.Are You Out There
  • 14.When I Was a Boy
  • 15.What Do You Hear in These Sounds
  • 16.After All
  • 17.The Babysitter's Here Intro
  • 18.The Babysitter's Here
  • 19.Christians and Pagans

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Dar Williams (vocals, guitar); Steuart Smith (guitar, keyboards, background vocals); Jeff Kazee (accordion, keyboards, background vocals); Gail Ann Dorsey (bass, background vocals); Steve Holley (drums, percussion, background vocals).
Engineers include: Kooster McAllister, Greg Thompson, Marshall Fawcett.
Recorded at The Calvin Theatre, Northampton, Massachusetts; Orpheum Theatre, Boston, Massachusetts; Irving Plaza, New York, New York from November 18-21, 2000.
Personnel: Steuart Smith (guitar, keyboards, background vocals); Jeff Kazee (keyboards, background vocals); Gail Ann Dorsey (bass guitar, background vocals); Steve Holley (drums, percussion, background vocals).
Audio Mixers: Evan Player; Steve Addabbo.
Recording information: Calvin Theatre, Northampton, MA (11/18/2000-11/21/2000); Irving Plaza, New York, NY (11/18/2000-11/21/2000); Orpheum Theatre, Boston, MA (11/18/2000-11/21/2000).
Photographer: Peter Cunningham.
There are a number of reasons to like the music of Dar Williams, including good lyrics, a contemporary sensibility, and an ability to craft memorable tunes. There are also a couple of good reasons to like Out There Live. First, it offers a nice overview of her musical career, selecting 16 tunes from four albums, from The Honesty Room in 1993 to The Green World in 2000. Next, it's an energetic live set, at times quiet and intimate, at other times rocking and rolling with a full band. "As Cool as I Am" proves a lively set opener, complete with drums, organ, and screaming fans, while a sparkling urgency fills "Spring Street." A quiet sadness lends itself to personal pieces like "If I Wrote You" and "End of Summer," leaving the audience in a hushed trance. Williams' amusing introduction to "I Won't Be Your Yoko Ono" also offers a feminist twist on John Lennon and Ono's relationship, while she jokingly extols the virtues of free-speech radio on the minds of teenagers in "Are You out There." Great pieces like "The Christians and the Pagans," a family snapshot taken during Christmas/solstice, and "The Babysitter's Here," a wry look at the '60s, also make appearances. Out There Live will please Williams' fans and inspire everyone else to go out and buy her first four albums. ~ Ronnie D. Lankford, Jr.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 32 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Dar Williams

Product Info

  • UPC: 793018287128
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)
Memorial Day: 10am-6pm