Body Count Body Count

Body Count
61 ratings
Price: $13.57
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $0.41 (3% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  G42W
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1992
  • Label: Sire / London/Rhino

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 5/14/92, p.105
3 Stars - Good - "...messages count less for this band than sheer physical release, and at bottom that's where 'Body Count' really makes its mark, offering the sort of sonic intensity parental groups fear even more than 4-letter words..."
Entertainment Weekly - 5/8/92, p.56
"...Moronic, sexist, profane, gratuitously violent, loud and morally reprehensible--yep, a heavy metal album. But this time it's a good one..." - Rating: A-
Village Voice (3/2/93, p.5) - Ranked #31 in the Village Voice's list of the 40 Best Albums Of 1992.


  • 1.Smoked Pork
  • 2.Body Count's in the House
  • 3.Now Sports
  • 4.Body Count
  • 5.A Statistic
  • 6.Bowels of the Devil
  • 7.The Real Problem
  • 8.K. K. K. Bitch
  • 9.C Note
  • 10.Voodoo
  • 11.The Winner Loses
  • 12.There Goes the Neighborhood
  • 13.Oprah
  • 14.Evil Dick
  • 15.Body Count Anthem
  • 16.Momma's Gotta Die Tonight
  • 17.Freedom of Speech

Product Description:

This album previously contained the track "Cop Killer", but does not anymore.
Body Count: Ice-T (lead vocals), Ernie C. (lead & acoustic guitar), D-Roc (guitar), Mooseman (bass), Beatmaster V (drums).
All songs by Ice-T and Ernie C. except "The Winner Loses" and "C Note" (Ernie C.).
Recorded at One-on-One Recorders, North Hollywood and Syndicate Studio West, September - December, 1991.
Personnel: Ice-T (vocals); Ernie C. (guitar, acoustic guitar); Beat Masters (drums).
Audio Mixers: Ernie C.; Ice-T.
Recording information: Kingsound Studios, N. Hollywood, CA (09/1991-12/1991); One On One Studios, North Hollywood, CA (09/1991-12/1991); Rick Marvin Studio (09/1991-12/1991); Syndicate Studio West (09/1991-12/1991).
Photographers: Todd Gray; Randy Alexander.
Arranger: Ice-T.
Divorced from the controversy that surrounded its release, Body Count's self-titled debut is a surprisingly tepid affair. Apart from the previously released "Body Count" (which appeared on Ice-T's 1991 album O.G. Original Gangster), the record is devoid of serious commentary, trading intelligence for a lurid comic book depiction of sex, violence, and "Voodoo." All of Ice-T's half-sung/half-shouted lyrics fall far short of the standard he established on his hip-hop albums. The controversial "Cop Killer" -- which is nothing more than a standard thrash metal chant -- stands out because it is one of the few tracks that doesn't rely on garish, cartoonish imagery. There's the saga of "Evil Dick," which tells Ice-T to not "sleep alone." There's "KKK Bitch," where he crashes a Ku Klux Klan meeting and screws the grand dragon's daughter. There's "Voodoo," where a witch doctor cripples our hero with a voodoo doll. There's "Mama's Gotta Die Tonight," where Ice-T offs his mother cause she's racist. By the time the band works around to the power ballad "The Winner Loses" and Ice-T is crooning, "My friend's addicted to cocaine," it's unclear whether the record is a parody or a flawed stab at arena metal. Either way, Body Count is a humorous curio from the early '90s that will appeal either to metalheads or listeners with a twisted sense of humor. [After "Cop Killer" was pulled from the album, it was replaced with a bland version of Ice-T's rap classic "The Iceberg" recorded with Jello Biafra.] ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 61 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Body Count

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 69,038
  • UPC: 093624513926
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)