The Glitter Band Rock 'n Roll Dudes

Rock 'n Roll Dudes
Price: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  XA9X
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2007


  • 1.For Always and Ever
  • 2.Sweet Baby Blue
  • 3.I Can't Stop
  • 4.Write Me a Letter
  • 5.All My Love
  • 6.Goodbye My Love
  • 7.Game's Up
  • 8.Bring Her Back
  • 9.Pictures of You
  • 10.Do You Remember
  • 11.You're Trying Too Hard
  • 12.Let's Get Together Again
  • 13.Jukebox Girl
  • 14.Got to Get Ready for Love
  • 15.Game's Up [Alternative Version]
  • 16.Do You Remember [Alternative Version]
  • 17.Goodbye My Love [Alternative Version]
  • 18.Gonna Meet You at the Fair
  • 19.Control Yourself

Product Description:

Personnel: John Springate (vocals, guitar); Gerry Sheppard (guitar); Harvey Ellison (saxophone); Peter Phipps (drums).
The Glitter Band's second album might indeed have borne one of the era's most cringe-worthy titles, and a sleeve that wasn't much better. But, once inside and reveling within the meaty stomps and playful heartbreaks that were the band's raison d'etre once they were away from kingpin Gary Glitter, Rock 'n' Roll Dudes emerges at least as much fun as its predecessor and, in places, even more memorable. Last time, after all, it was "Angel Face" that took the honors, and that was a rhythm they could play in their sleep. This time around, "Goodbye My Love" simply scythes out of nowhere to reveal a romantic streak the size of Connecticut and a handle on all the bittersweetness that an airport farewell could possibly entail. Stunning, too, is "Game's Up," a song that might be better known from Hello's almost-hit cover later in the year, but which still packs a glitter-stomp that is all but unrepeatable. And while the opening "For Always and Ever" rides a guitar and drum crunch that simply summarizes everything you've always thought the Glitter Band should sound like, the song itself has a mid-'60s feel that is as contagious as it is cute. Further fist-waving rockers "Sweet Baby Blue," "I Can't Stop," and "Bring Her Back" follow in similar footsteps, while it still seems incredible that the scarf-waving "Do You Remember" was passed over as a single -- all the more so since "Let's Get Together Again" wasn't. An idiot chant that went out of its way to justify every criticism ever laid at the Glitter Band's door (repetitive, clich‚d, and utterly moronic), the song remains a black mark in the band's output and an unsightly stain on this album. Indeed, though Rock 'n' Roll Dudes may not be perfect, it is certainly better than its best-known number. ~ Dave Thompson

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Glitter Band

Product Info

  • UPC: 5013929042421
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)