The Glitter Band The Bell Singles Collection

The Bell Singles Collection
Only 4 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $14.81 Limited Time Only
List Price: $16.99
You Save: $2.18 (13% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  XA9R
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2000


  • 1.Angel Face
  • 2.You Wouldn't Leave Me, Would You?
  • 3.Just for You
  • 4.I'm Celebrating
  • 5.Let's Get Together Again
  • 6.Jukebox Queen
  • 7.Goodbye My Love
  • 8.Got to Get Ready for Love
  • 9.The Tears I Cried
  • 10.Until Tomorrow
  • 11.Love in the Sun
  • 12.I Can Hear Music
  • 13.Alone Again
  • 14.Watch the Show
  • 15.People Like You, People Like Me
  • 16.Makes You Blind
  • 17.Don't Make Promises (You Can't Keep)
  • 18.Tuna Biscuit

Product Description:

Contains 18 tracks released on Bell Records between 1974 and 1976.
Liner Note Author: Mark Brennan .
Photographer: Barry Plummer.
Between 1974-1976, the Glitter Band released a total of nine singles on the U.K. Bell label, running up seven Top 20 hits, one American club smash, and emerging, at the end of the day, with two bona fide classics -- their debut, "Angel Face," and, precisely midway through the sequence, "Goodbye My Love." All have now been recycled so many times that there can barely be an interested soul in the world who does not own the entire catalog in one permutation or another. Far from screaming its own redundancy from the rooftops, however, this collection distinguishes itself by returning to the original source -- all nine singles, all nine B-sides, presented in strict chronological order. We can get the hits out of the way with barely a second glance; from the sublime (the aforementioned giants) to the ridiculous (the glitter-by-numbers "Let's Get Together Again," "Just for You"), the sequence encompasses a surprising array of directions and some remarkably consistent visions as well. Flip over the Beach Boys-esque "Love in the Sun" and find the band returning to the well of their inspiration, with the delicious "I Can Hear Music." Dig beneath the yearning "The Tears I Cried" and find the superb "Until Tomorrow." And upend the gratuitously irritating "People Like You, People Like Me," a last-ditch attempt to return to the glitter sound after some more adventurous efforts had failed to chart, and marvel at the instrumental "Makes You Blind," a squelching, pulsing slab of electro-disco-hard rock which came within a hair's breadth of breaking the American chart. As you'd expect from any compilation which takes half its weight from B-sides, it's an inconsistent collection. By and large, the Glitter Band's A-sides represent the peak of their powers; with only a handful of exceptions, the B-sides don't. But glam rock was a singles-driven phenomenon, and bands didn't come much glammier than the Glitters. No matter what the songs are like, this is history as it happened. ~ Dave Thompson

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for The Glitter Band

Product Info

  • UPC: 5013929040120
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)