Lonnie Johnson The Complete Folkways Recordings

The Complete Folkways Recordings
7 ratings
Price: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  9CEQ
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1993
  • Label: Smithsonian Folkways


  • Buy for $0.991.Raise the Window High
  • Buy for $0.992.Tears Don't Fall No More
  • Buy for $0.993.Long Road to Travel
  • Buy for $0.994.Old Rocking Chair
  • Buy for $0.995.You Have My Life in Your Hands
  • Buy for $0.996.Lazy Mood
  • Buy for $0.997.Mister Trouble
  • Buy for $0.998.How Deep Is the Ocean?
  • Buy for $0.999.Pouring Down Rain
  • Buy for $0.9910.Prisoner of Love
  • Buy for $0.9911.Careless Love
  • Buy for $0.9912.Juice Headed Baby
  • Buy for $0.9913.Teardrops in My Eyes
  • Buy for $0.9914.Looking for a Sweetie
  • Buy for $0.9915.I've Been a Fool Myself
  • Buy for $0.9916.What a Diff'rence a Day Makes
  • Buy for $0.9917.That Lonesome Road
  • Buy for $0.9918.I Can't Believe
  • Buy for $0.9919.When You Always by Yourself
  • Buy for $0.9920.My Mother's Eyes
  • Buy for $0.9921.Summertime
  • Buy for $0.9922.C.C. Rider
  • Buy for $0.9923.The Entire Family Was Musicians
  • Buy for $0.9924.Falling Rain Blues

Product Description:

Solo performer: Lonnie Johnson (vocals, guitar).
Includes liner notes by Sam Charters.
Personnel: Lonnie Johnson (vocals, guitar).
Liner Note Author: Samuel Charters.
Recording information: 1967.
Editor: Leslie Spitz-Edson.
Photographer: Esmond Edwards.
Fans who think the blues has little more to offer than screaming guitars and over-amplified harmonicas have obviously never heard Lonnie Johnson (1889-1970). A New Orleans native who spent much of his youth in Europe and St. Louis, Johnson saw the blues through a jazz player's eyes, incorporating jazz's complex chording and hip attitude into a genre otherwise noted for its raw, unadorned passion. As a result of his masterful playing and distinctive approach, no lesser (and diverse) greats than B.B. King, Robert Johnson, Charlie Christian, and T-Bone Walker readily and enthusiastically acknowledged Johnson's influence on their playing.
THE COMPLETE FOLKWAYS RECORDINGS, a 1967 collection of Johnson solo performances, offers a unique opportunity to hear this master outside his usual ensemble setting. On this generous 24-track offering, Johnson works his way through numerous original blues as well as a few well-chosen jazz standards ("Prisoner of Love" and Hoagy Carmichael's "Old Rocking Chair," among several others). Although recorded late in Johnson's life, the blues great's playing and singing show no signs of deterioration. On the contrary, this is the work of a man at the top of his game. A classic.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 7 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Lonnie Johnson

Product Info

  • UPC: 093074006726
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)