Pioneering Women of Bluegrass

Pioneering Women of Bluegrass
10% OFF
Rating 4.8
11 ratings
List Price: $16.98
Your Price: $15.28
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible

Save for Later
Format: CD
Item:  QAWD
on most orders of $35
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1996
  • Label: Smithsonian Folkways


  • Buy for $0.991.T.B. Blues
  • Buy for $0.992.The One I Love Is Gone
  • Buy for $0.993.Who's That Knocking?
  • Buy for $0.994.Walkin' in My Sleep
  • Buy for $0.995.Won't You Come and Sing for Me?
  • Buy for $0.996.Can't You Hear Me Callin'
  • Buy for $0.997.Darling Nellie Across the Sea
  • Buy for $0.998.Coal Miner's Blues
  • Buy for $0.999.Sugar Tree Stomp
  • Buy for $0.9910.Train on the Island
  • Buy for $0.9911.Cowboy Jim
  • Buy for $0.9912.Lee Highway Blues
  • Buy for $0.9913.Memories of Mother and Dad
  • Buy for $0.9914.Long Black Veil
  • Buy for $0.9915.Gonna Lay Down My Old Guitar
  • Buy for $0.9916.Difficult Run
  • Buy for $0.9917.Mommy, Please Stay Home with Me
  • Buy for $0.9918.Gabriel's Call
  • Buy for $0.9919.Just Another Broken Heart
  • Buy for $0.9920.A Distant Land to Roam
  • Buy for $0.9921.John Henry
  • Buy for $0.9922.I Just Got Wise
  • Buy for $0.9923.Lover's Return
  • Buy for $0.9924.A Tiny Broken Heart
  • Buy for $0.9925.Take Me Back to Tulsa
  • Buy for $0.9926.I Hear a Sweet Voice Calling

Product Description:

PIONEERING WOMEN OF BLUEGRASS consists of Hazel Dickens' and Alice Gerrard's first two albums, released in 1965 and 1973 on Folkways (31055, 31034).
Personnel: Hazel Dickens (vocals, bass); Alice Gerrard (vocals, guitar, banjo); David Grisman (vocals, mandolin); Fred Weisz (vocals, guitar); Mike Seeger (guitar); Lamar Grier (banjo); Chubby Wise, Billy Baker (fiddle).
Recorded at First Unitarian Church, Washington, D.C. and Mastertone Studios, New York, New York between late 1964 and late 1965. Includes liner notes by Neil Rosenberg, Alice Gerrard and Hazel Dickens.
Audio Remasterer: David Glasser.
Liner Note Authors: Hazel Dickens; Bill Vernon; Alice Gerrard; Neil V. Rosenberg.
Introduction bys: Hazel Dickens; Neil V. Rosenberg.
Photographers: Barry Glickman; Hazel Dickens; John Cohen.
Unknown Contributor Role: Peter Siegel.
Hazel Dickens & Alice Gerrard recorded a couple of albums in the mid-'60s that are now acknowledged as groundbreakers in demonstrating that women could play and record quality bluegrass. This collection remasters and re-sequences 26 tracks from the sessions, as well as adding lengthy historical liner notes, much of them contributed by the performers themselves. Historical significance aside, it's pretty good bluegrass, the two singers and instrumentalists supported by other good musicians, including a young David Grisman. Their set leaned heavily on covers of tunes by the Carter Family and Bill Monroe (who specifically gave "I Hear a Sweet Voice Calling" to the duo), with additional items by the Delmore Brothers, the Stanley Brothers, and the like. Alice Gerrard's low vocals give this a greater gravity than much bluegrass. A special highlight is their cover of the magnificently mournful "The One I Love Is Gone," another tune that Monroe donated to the pair. Inverting the usual bluegrass clich‚, one might call it an example of the low and lonesome sound. ~ Richie Unterberger

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.8
Based on 11 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Hazel Dickens

Product Info:

  • UPC: 093074006528
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)