Merle Haggard Greatest Hits: Finest Performances

Greatest Hits: Finest Performances
1 rating
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  QAR2
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 26, 2002
  • Label: Sun Entertainment


  • 1.Today I Started Loving You Again
  • 2.Swinging Doors
  • 3.Workin' Man Blues
  • 4.I'm a Lonesome Fugitive
  • 5.Mama Tried
  • 6.The Bottle Let Me Down
  • 7.Okie from Muskogee
  • 8.Branded Man
  • 9.Hungry Eyes
  • 10.The Fightin' Side of Me
  • 11.I Take a Lot of Pride in What I Am
  • 12.I Think I'll Just Stay Here and Drink

Product Description:

Personnel: Merle Haggard (vocals, guitar); Abe Manuel (guitar, harmonica, bass, tambourine, percussion, background vocals); Clint Strong (acoustic & 12-string guitars); Red Lane (acoustic guitar); Tim Howard (guitar); John Hickman (banjo); Norm Hamlett (steel guitar); Don Markham (saxophone, background vocals); Bobby Woods (piano, keyboards); Joe Reed (bass); Biff Adam (drums); Bob Newcomb, Bonnie Owens (background vocals).
Compilation producers: Shelby S. Singleton, Jim Wilson.
Recorded at Tally Recording Studio, Palo Cedro, California.
Personnel: Merle Haggard (vocals, guitar).
Recording information: Tally Recording Studio, Palo Cedro, CA.
GREATEST HITS contains 12 new versions of classic Merle Haggard songs. Because it was recorded at Haggard's home studio in 1995 with his stage band providing backing, the record sounds a lot like a board recording of a '95 Merle Haggard concert. The sound is simple but clean, the band plays with the confidence of a group that has played the material hundreds of time, and Haggard, as always, sings superbly.
None of the cuts here improves on the original hit recordings (an impossibly tall order, given the excellence of Haggard's early records), but nearly all are solid nonetheless. Haggard's band sticks pretty close to the arrangements of the original records, but Haggard takes some liberties with the melodies, playfully dropping down an octave or back-phrasing on occasion. He never undercuts the songs, it's just that, like the other great pure singer of his era, George Jones, Haggard rarely sings a song the exact same way twice, which makes GREATEST HITS valuable to those interested in hearing a slightly different take on these familiar songs.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Product Groupings:
Get Email Alerts for Merle Haggard

Product Info

  • UPC: 015074701524
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)