The Knickerbockers Jerk & Twine Time

Jerk & Twine Time
Hurry! Only 1 copy left Sorry no back-orders
SALE: $12.58
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $1.40 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD
sku:  SAJW
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1993
  • Label: Sundazed Music Inc.


  • Buy for $0.991.You Really Got Me
  • Buy for $0.992.All Day and All of the Night
  • Buy for $0.993.Money (That's What I Want)
  • Buy for $0.994.The Jolly Green Giant
  • Buy for $0.995.Twine Time
  • Buy for $0.996.Land of 1000 Dances
  • Buy for $0.997.The "In" Crowd
  • Buy for $0.998.The Jerk
  • Buy for $0.999.Jerk Town
  • Buy for $0.9910.She's Not There
  • Buy for $0.9911.Downtown - (bonus track)
  • Buy for $0.9912.Limbo Rock - (bonus track)
  • Buy for $0.9913.In the Misty Moonlight - (bonus track)
  • Buy for $0.9914.Beau and John Charles Talk About the Knickerbockers - (bonus track)

Product Description:

The Knickerbockers: Beau Charles (guitar), Buddy Randell (saxophone, vocals), John Charles (bass), Jimmy Walker (drums, vocals).
Originally released on Challenge (LP 621). Includes liner notes by Jerry Fuller.
Personnel: Beau Charles (vocals, guitar); Jimmy Walker (vocals, drums); Buddy Randell (saxophone).
Liner Note Author: Jerry Fuller.
Even if you're a dedicated collector, you should think twice about chasing down this album, which consists almost entirely of British Invasion and R&B covers in the frat rock style and not done especially well. There is a certain level of ambition here, in the cover of the Zombies' "She's Not There," that's not entirely realized, but the mere fact of this LP's release in 1965 may well have inspired a few frat bands and garage bands whose members rightfully believed they could generate better (and more interesting) covers of the British Invasion tunes here -- so it was probably all to the good at the time, if not worth too much in itself. One also suspects -- given their relative success elsewhere -- that the Knickerbockers were capable of generating a lot more excitement in their playing when they had an audience to work in front of, and probably just couldn't rouse their best instincts in a studio setting. The reissue -- without any annotation -- at least makes it easy to hear. And the three bonus tracks (including the interview with two members) make the CD marginally more interesting than the vinyl was in any respect except as an artifact of its time, and this release therefore merits a very slightly higher rating than the original LP. ~ Richie Unterberger & Bruce Eder

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Sale Items:
Get Email Alerts for The Knickerbockers

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 78,020
  • UPC: 090771601025
  • Shipping Weight: 0.23/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)