Screamin' Jay Hawkins Best Of the Bizarre Sessions: 1990-1994

Best Of the Bizarre Sessions: 1990-1994
4 ratings
Price: $15.29
List Price: $16.99
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  JW5K
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: February 19, 2013
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: Manifesto Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 9/00, p.128
3 stars out of 5 - "...This has its's always entertaining and there are 4 new tracks from his last 1994 session..."
CMJ - 7/31/00, p.26
"...Although the music is in the typical blues/R&B vein, Hawkins' amazing pipes are in fine form here...a must-have for fans."


  • 1.Swamp Gas
  • 2.Voodoo Priestess
  • 3.Brujo
  • 4.I Am the Cool
  • 5.Ice Cream Man
  • 6.Fourteen Wives
  • 7.Heart Attack and Vine
  • 8.Somethin' Funny Goin' On
  • 9.Ignant and Shit
  • 10.Shut Your Mouth When You Sneeze
  • 11.You Make Me Sick
  • 12.Just for You
  • 13.Give It a Break
  • 14.Stone Crazy
  • 15.Make You Mine
  • 16.I Want Your Body
  • 17.Upsettin' Me
  • 18.Ol' Man River

Product Description:

Personnel: Screamin' Jay Hawkins (vocals, piano); Michael Keneally (guitar, keyboards); Bo Diddley Jr. (guitar); Felix Flanagan (harmonica); Bara Southern, Dana Garrett, Robbie Helm (saxophone); Steve Ebner (trumpet); Mark Goldberg, Oscar Barajas (bass); Rik Shannon (drums, percussion, background vocals); Jeff Aafedt (drums); Jim Monroe (percussion); Meredith Marshall (background vocals).
Compilation producer: Evan Cohen.
Recorded at Tracks II, Hollywood, California between October 1990 and December 1990; For The Record Studios, Orange, California in January, 1994.
Personnel: Screamin' Jay Hawkins (vocals, piano); Mike Keneally (guitar, keyboards); Robbie Helm, Dana "Potato Boy" Garrett (saxophone); Rik Shannon (drums, percussion, background vocals); Jeff Aafedt (drums); Jim Monroe (percussion); Donna Gast, Octavia Bostick, Meredith Marshall (background vocals).
Recording information: For the Record, Orange, CA (10/1990-01/1994); Tracks II, Hollywood, CA (10/1990-01/1994).
This 18-song compilation is taken from three albums that Screamin' Jay Hawkins recorded in the early '90s for Bizarre/Straight Records: Black Music for White People, Stone Crazy, and Somethin' Funny Goin On. While these albums contain some spirited performances, including the hysterical operatic version of "Ol Man River," they do not contain the fire or spontaneity of his classic '50s recordings. Some of the material may have been too sincere for Hawkins' style, such as the two songs penned by Tom Waits: "Ice Cream Man" and "Heart Attack and Vine." While "Ignant and Shit," "Shut Your Mouth When You Sneeze," and "Swamp Gas" swing in the opposite direction, proving the song titles funnier than the actual songs. Best of the Bizarre Sessions: 1990-1994 has its moments, but for a clearer glimpse of Hawkins original R&B theatrics which created such a stir in the '50s check out the Rhino compilation Voodoo Jive: The Best of Screamin' Jay Hawkins. ~ Al Campbell

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Screamin' Jay Hawkins

Product Info

  • UPC: 767004220123
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)