Mildred Bailey The Rockin' Chair Lady (1931-1950)

The Rockin' Chair Lady (1931-1950)
6 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  JVWR
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1994
  • Label: Verve


  • Buy for $0.991.Willow Tree
  • Buy for $0.992.Honeysuckle Rose
  • Buy for $0.993.Squeeze Me
  • Buy for $0.994.Down-Hearted Blues
  • Buy for $0.995.Blues In My Heart
  • Buy for $0.996.You Call It Madness (But I Call It Love)
  • Buy for $0.997.When It's Sleepy Time Down South
  • Buy for $0.998.Wrap Your Troubles In Dreams
  • Buy for $0.999.When That Man Is Dead And Gone
  • Buy for $0.9910.Jenny
  • Buy for $0.9911.Georgia On My Mind
  • Buy for $0.9912.Rockin' Chair
  • Buy for $0.9913.Sometimes I'm Happy
  • Buy for $0.9914.Ev'rything Depends On You
  • Buy for $0.9915.Lover, Come Back To Me
  • Buy for $0.9916.All Too Soon
  • Buy for $0.9917.It's So Peaceful In The Country
  • Buy for $0.9918.More Than You Know
  • Buy for $0.9919.Cry, Cry, Cry
  • Buy for $0.9920.Blue Prelude

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Mildred Bailey (vocals), Bunny Berigan, Johnny Hodges, Teddy Wilson, Grachan Moneur, The Delta Rhythm Boys, Harry Sosnick, Vic Schoen.
Personnel: Mildred Bailey (vocals); Dave Barbour, Gene Gifford, Al Hendrickson, Carmen Mastren (guitar); Mel Jenssen (violin); Jimmy Lytell (clarinet); Clarence Hutchenrider, Glen Gray, John Rotella, Kenny Sargent, Ted Nash, Wilbur Schwartz (reeds); Johnny Hodges (alto saxophone); Bo Ashford, John Best , Bobby Lee Jones, Jack Jenney, Joe Hostetter, Billy Butterfield, Bunny Berigan (trumpet); Billy Rauch, Eddie Kusby, Murray McEachern, Pee Wee Hunt, Si Zentner (trombone); Joe Hall , Herman Chittison, Teddy Wilson, Billy Kyle (piano); O'Neill Spencer, Jimmie Hoskins, Tony Briglia, Irving Cottler (drums).
Audio Remasterer: Erick Labson.
Liner Note Author: Roy Hemming.
Recording information: LA, CA (1931-1950); New York, NY (1931-1950).
Ensemble: The Delta Rhythm Boys.
Arranger: Gene Gifford.
One of at least six Mildred Bailey compilation albums with the phrase "Rockin' Chair Lady" in the title, this 20-track overview issued by GRP in 1994 spans virtually her entire recording career from her Paul Whiteman days (1931) to one of her very last sessions (1950). Possessed of a lovely and at times delicate voice, Mildred Bailey specialized in Tin Pan Alley pop tunes, mostly songs of love and heartbreak. Married for a while to xylophonist and bandleader Red Norvo, she achieved fame during the 1930s but gradually receded from the limelight after 1940. This collection of vintage recordings, which were originally released on Decca phonograph records, includes sublime interpretations of songs by Fats Waller, Benny Carter, Lovie Austin, Hoagy Carmichael, and Duke Ellington. ~ arwulf arwulf

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Mildred Bailey

Product Info

  • UPC: 011105064422
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)