Jimmy Yancey The Unissued 1951 Yancey Wire Recordings (Live)

The Unissued 1951 Yancey Wire Recordings (Live)
Price: $17.99
List Price: $19.99
You Save: $2 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  JVWF
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: May 1, 1997
  • Originally Released: 1998
  • Label: Document


  • 1.Lux's Boogie
  • 2.Make Me A Pallet On The Floor
  • 3.Chicago In Mind
  • 4.Cow Cow Blues
  • 5.Tomorrow Morning - (Damaged)
  • 6.Four O'Clock Blues - (Damaged)
  • 7.Shave 'Em Dry - (Fragment)
  • 8.Elephant Rag
  • 9.Mellow Blues
  • 10.Scott Joplin's New Rag
  • 11.Royal Garden Blues
  • 12.Hurry Sundown
  • 13.Don't You Wanna Know
  • 14.How Long Blues
  • 15.Yancey's Bugle Call - (Damaged)
  • 16.Fives
  • 17.Blues
  • 18.Chicago In Mind
  • 19.Don't You Wanna Know
  • 20.How Long Blues

Product Description:

Personnel: Jimmy Yancey (vocals, piano); Mama Yancey (vocals); Dick Mushlitz (piano, banjo); Walter Joplin (piano).
Recorded on June 16, 1951.
Personnel: Jimmy Yancey (vocals, piano); Mama Yancey (vocals); Dick Mushlitz (banjo, piano); Phil Kiely, Walter Joplin (piano).
Audio Remasterer: John R.T. Davies.
Liner Note Author: Dick Mushlitz.
Recording information: Lafayette, IN (06/16/1951/06/17/1951); Yancey Apartment, Chicago, IL (06/16/1951/06/17/1951).
Photographers: Phil Kiely; Dick Mushlitz.
Boogie-woogie pianist Jimmy Yancey and his wife, Mama Yancey, used to have musical gatherings at their Chicago home. The performances heard on this CD were recorded by a wire recorder three months before Yancey's death, and were released for the first time on this 1997 CD. The recording quality varies greatly, ranging from listenable to quite noisy, so this is not a release for general listeners. However, Jimmy Yancey collectors will definitely want it, because there are some unique moments heard along the way. First, an unknown pianist is featured on four numbers, playing very good boogie-woogie, accompanying Mama Yancey on "Make Me a Pallet on the Floor" and "Chicago in Mind." Jimmy Yancey, who was not feeling that well but still playing excellently, is featured on the next five numbers, although two of the three selections that also feature Mama Yancey and have Phil Kiely providing a third hand on the piano, playing the high notes, are a bit damaged. Walter Joplin (no relation) performs "Scott Joplin's New Rag." A jam session takes place with both of the Yanceys (they share the vocals on "Royal Garden Blues"), with clarinetist Buzz Reynolds and banjoist Dick Mushlitz featured on six mostly listenable numbers. In addition, Mushlitz switches to piano for a solo "Blues" recorded a day later, and there are repeats of three of the performances from a clearer but scratchier source. The joy of the music generally shines through on this historic release. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Jimmy Yancey

Product Info

  • UPC: 714298100723
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)