Rock Me, Shake Me: Field Recordings, Volume 15: Mississippi 1941-1942
by Various Artists

Rock Me, Shake Me: Field Recordings, Volume 15:
Price: $17.99
List Price: $19.99
You Save: $2 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  AE73
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: July 2, 2002
  • Label: Document


  • 1.Boll Weevil, The - Asa Ware
  • 2.I Love My Jelly Roll - David Edwards
  • 3.Holler - Charley Berry
  • 4.Interview - Charley Berry
  • 5.Holler - Charley Berry
  • 6.Interview - Charley Berry
  • 7.Hitler Toast - Unidentified Man
  • 8.Rock Me, Shake Me - Manuel Casey
  • 9.Witness For The Lord - Roxie Threadgill
  • 10.I'm Goin' Lean On The Lord - Roxie Threadgill
  • 11.Done Taken My Lord Away - Mrs. Johnson
  • 12.Rock, Daniel - Roxie Threadgill
  • 13.Shout For Joy - Mrs. Johnson
  • 14.You Got To Stand Your Test In Judgement - Roxie Threadgill
  • 15.Low Down Your Chariot And Let Me Ride - Roxie Threadgill
  • 16.Father, I Stretch My Hand To Thee - Mrs Johnson
  • 17.Interview - Sid Hemphill
  • 18.Roguish Man, The (Pt. 2) - Sid Hemphill
  • 19.Roguish Man, The (Pt. 1) - Sid Hemphill
  • 20.Interview And The Strayhorn Mob - Sid Hemphill
  • 21.Boll Weevil, The - Sid Hemphill
  • 22.Interview And Tuning Of 4-Hole Quills - Alec Askew
  • 23.So Soon I'll Be At Home - Sid Hemphill

Product Description:

Recorded in Mississippi in 1941-42. Includes liner notes by Bob Groom.
Personnel: David Honeyboy Edwards (vocals, guitar); Sid Hemphill (vocals, violin); Alex Askew (guitar); Lucius Smith (banjo).
Liner Note Author: Bob Groom.
Recording information: Clarksdale, MS (09/??/1941-08/15/1942); Coahoma Co. Agricultural Schoo, Clarksdale, MS (09/??/1941-08/15/1942); Coahoma County, MS (09/??/1941-08/15/1942); Moorehead Plantation, Lula, MS (09/??/1941-08/15/1942); Sledge, MS (09/??/1941-08/15/1942).
Arranger: Sid Hemphill.
Rock Me Shake Me Field Recordings, Vol. 15: Mississippi is made up of field recordings of black musicians recorded by Alan Lomax for the Library Of Congress Folk Archives back in the early 1940s in Coahoma County, Mississippi. Most of the tracks here are unaccompanied spirituals, highlighted by Roxie Threadgill's moving "I'm Goin Lean on the Lord," but there also several brief interviews and spoken pieces, including one called "Hitler Toast" (the toaster is not named), which details what Americans are going to do to various parts of Hitler's anatomy when they find him. The strength of this collection, though, comes at the end, with six tracks by the blind fiddle player Sidney Hemphill, a veteran of the Mississippi fife and drum string band tradition. Hemphill's "The Roguish Man" is divided into two parts here, actually three, since the cut called "Strayhorn Mob" is still the same song, and all three parts are actually the ultimate shaggy dog story generally known as "Arkansas Traveler." With hundreds of floating verse elements to choose from, Hemphill was able to expand or contract the song to suit his performance needs, and the longer versions form a hilarious and surreal comic epic that would make Bob Dylan proud, although Dylan never recorded anything so wild, exuberant, and other-worldly as this. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 714298567229
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)