Roosevelt Sykes Complete Recorded Works, Volume 2 (1930-1931)

Complete Recorded Works, Volume 2 (1930-1931)
19% OFF
LOW STOCK: Only 1 copy left
List Price: $17.98
Sale Price: $16.18
CYBER SALE: $14.56 Limited Time Only
You Save: $3.42 (19% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  DCU 5117
Holiday Ordering Guidelines: Delivery in the US by December 24th
We cannot guarantee delivery in time for Christmas
But it's not too late for an e-mail Gift Certificate

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Label: Document


  • 1.32-20 Blues
  • 2.Give Me Your Change
  • 3.I Love You More And More
  • 4.Kelly's 44 Blues
  • 5.3-6 And 9
  • 6.We Can Sell That Thing
  • 7.Conjur Man Blues
  • 8.Cotton Seed Blues
  • 9.No Good Woman Blues
  • 10.Drinkin' Woman Blues
  • 11.Papa Sweetback Blues
  • 12.He Treats Me Like A Dog
  • 13.Meat Cutter Blues
  • 14.Side Door Blues
  • 15.Big Time Woman
  • 16.Thanksgivin' Blues
  • 17.Kelly's Special
  • 18.Don't Put The Lights Out
  • 19.No Settled Mind Blues
  • 20.As True As I've Been To You
  • 21.Hard Luck Man Blues
  • 22.Don't Squeeze Me Too Tight
  • 23.You So Dumb
  • 24.Nasty But It's Clean

Product Description:

Personnel: Roosevelt Sykes (vocals, piano); St. Louis Bessie (vocals, accordion); Willie Kelly, Dobby Bragg (vocals, piano); Henry Townsend (guitar).
Liner Note Author: Chris Smith .
Recording information: 1930-1931.
Part of the most ambitious series of Roosevelt Sykes reissues ever undertaken, Document's Complete Recorded Works, Vol. 2 (1930-1931) features 24 tracks of prime blues piano, everything Sykes recorded during the year-long period between June of 1930 and June of 1931. Though there aren't as many classic tracks here as on other volumes, there are highlights: a remake of one of his more famous sides, this time called "Kelly's 44 Blues," and a couple of risqu‚ titles ("Nasty but It's Clean," "Big Time Woman"). That's enough to make it of interest to completists and serious fans, though the long running time, chronological sequencing, and poor fidelity could make for difficult listening. ~ Thom Owens

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Roosevelt Sykes

Product Info:

  • UPC: 714298511727
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the Blues genre: