Kid Ory Sunshine Exner Decca Recordings (1922-1947)

Sunshine Exner Decca Recordings (1922-1947)
Price: $16.18
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  36KYQ
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: November 1, 1996
  • Label: Document


  • 1.Krooked Blues
  • 2.When You're Alone Blues
  • 3.Maybe Someday
  • 4.That Sweet Something Dear
  • 5.Ory's Creole Trombone
  • 6.Society Blues
  • 7.Mutt's Blues
  • 8.Dippermouth Blues
  • 9.Savoy Blues
  • 10.High Society
  • 11.Ballin' the Jack
  • 12.High Society
  • 13.Muskrat Ramble
  • 14.The Girls Go Crazy About the Way I Walk
  • 15.Blanche Touquatoux
  • 16.Way Down Yonder in New Orleans (Introduction) - (introduction)
  • 17.Oh! Didn't He Ramble
  • 18.Snag It
  • 19.Maryland, My Maryland
  • 20.Savoy Blues
  • 21.Down Among the Sheltering Palms
  • 22.Creole Song
  • 23.Weary Blues
  • 24.Way Down Yonder in New Orleans - (close)

Product Description:

Kid Ory & His Creole Jazz Band includes: Kid Ory (vocals, trombone); Joe Darensbourg (vocals, clarinet); Bud Scott (vocals, guitar, banjo); Roberta Dudley, Ruth Lee, Cecile Ory (vocals); Mutt Carey (trumpet, cornet); Andrew Blakeney (trumpet); Dink Johnson, Jimmie Noone (clarinet); Fred Washington, Buster Wilson (piano); Ed Garland (bass); Ben Borders, Zutty Singleton, Minor Hall (drums); Rudi Blesh.
Recorded in Los Angeles, California between June 1922 and March 1945 and in Hollywood, California on August 9, 1947. Includes liner notes by Howard Rye.
Digitally remastered by Gerhard Wessely (Soundborn Studios, Vienna, Austria).
Personnel: Kid Ory (vocals, trombone, tuba); Bud Scott (vocals, guitar, banjo); Joe Darensbourg (vocals, clarinet); Roberta Dudley (vocals); Dink Johnson, Jimmie Noone (clarinet); Papa Mutt Carey (cornet); Buster Wilson (piano); Alton Redd, Minor Hall, Ben Borders, Zutty Singleton (drums).
Audio Remasterer: Gerhard Wessely.
Liner Note Author: Howard Rye.
Recording information: 1922-1947.
This CD, one of the very few put out by the blues label Document that is actually jazz rather than blues, is a historic gap filler. Trombonist Kid Ory & His Sunshine Orchestra (also sometimes called Spikes' Seven Pods of Pepper Orchestra!) was the first black band from New Orleans to make it onto records. Its two instrumentals from 1922 ("Ory's Creole Trombone" and "Society Blues") feature some primitive but lively playing by Ory, cornetist Mutt Carey, clarinetist Dink Johnson, pianist Fred Washington, drummer Ben Borders, and the inaudible bass of Ed Garland. The same band backs a pair of dated vocals apiece by singers Roberta Dudley and Ruth Lee. Jumping to 1944, this CD has a broadcast version of "Mutt's Blues" by Kid Ory's Creole Jazz Band (with trumpeter Mutt Carey and clarinetist Jimmie Noone), a pair of obscure four-song sessions by the same group (with Joe Darensbourg taking the spot of the deceased Noone) cut for Exner and Decca and rarely reissued, and Ory's appearance with his band on Ruby Blesh's This Is Jazz radio program of August 9, 1947. The latter lasts a half-hour and features Ory, Darensbourg, trumpeter Andrew Blakeney, pianist Buster Wilson, guitarist Bud Scott, bassist Ed Garland, and drummer Minor Hall performing seven numbers including "Oh Didn't He Ramble," "Maryland, My Maryland," and "Savoy Blues." Kid Ory's mid-'50s group would actually be more powerful than this early version but the music is full of infectious spirit. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Kid Ory

Product Info

  • UPC: 714298100228
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)