Slowdive Just for a Day (2-CD)

Rating 5.0
2 ratings
List Price: $29.99
Your Price: $26.99
You Save: $3 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible

Save for Later
Format: CD  (2 Discs)
Item:  CHYR 2914612
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: August 16, 2010
  • Label: Cherry Red UK

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 3/21/92, p.54
"...airily delicious..." - Rating: B
Record Collector (magazine) - p.86
4 stars out of 5 -- "JUST FOR A DAY allows for an inspection of the group's organic growth..."


  • 1.Spanish Air
  • 2.Celia's Dream
  • 3.Catch The Breeze
  • 4.Ballad of Sister Sue
  • 5.Erik's Song
  • 6.Waves
  • 7.Brighter
  • 8.The Sadman
  • 9.Primal
  • 10.Slowdive
  • 11.Avalyn I
  • 12.Avalyn Ii
  • 13.Morningrise
  • 14.She Calls
  • 15.Losing Today
  • 16.Golden Hair
  • 17.Shine
  • 18.Albatross
  • 19.Catch The Breeze (Peel Session)
  • 20.Shine (Peel Session)
  • 21.Golden Hair (Peel Session)

Product Description:

Slowdive: Rachel Goswell, Neil Halstead (vocals, guitar); Christian Savill (guitar); Nick Chaplin (bass); Simon Scott (drums).
Audio Mixer: Slowdive.
Audio Remasterer: Andy Pearce.
Liner Note Author: Kieron Tyler.
Recording information: Courtyard Studios, Abingdon; Maida Vale 4.
One of the most influential albums of the early-1990s British "shoegazer" movement, Slowdive's JUST FOR A DAY is awash in the style's trademarks. Here waves of reverb guitar lines ebb and flow over spare grooves, while Neil Halstead and Rachel Goswell's whispered, sometimes chant-like vocals drift high above. "Celia's Dream" and "Brighter" are light, aptly titled tunes that float along on gauzy textures and unwind at a leisurely pace; "Catch the Breeze" lifts a page from My Bloody Valentine's densely layered LOVELESS, and "Erik's Song" ventures into minimalist, ambient territory. Although these tracks rely on atmospherics much more than structure, Halstead, the quintet's main songwriter, would go on to create progressively tighter melodies on 1994's SOUVLAKI, his subsequent band Mojave 3, and his solo work. Though it's not as focused or adventurous as later Slowdive material, JUST FOR A DAY provides a shining template for the revered group's airy, spacious sound.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Slowdive

Product Info:

  • UPC: 5013929146129
  • Shipping Weight: 0.24/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday - Friday: 7am-10pm, Saturday: 9am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)