Sir Douglas Quintet Complete Singles 1964-1966

Complete Singles 1964-1966
8 ratings
Price: $12.58
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $1.40 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  DAES
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: February 24, 2009
  • Label: Varese Fontana


  • 1.Sugar Bee
  • 2.Blue Norther
  • 3.She's About a Mover
  • 4.We'll Take Our Last Walk Tonight
  • 5.The Tracker
  • 6.In Time
  • 7.The Story of John Hardy
  • 8.The Rains Came
  • 9.Bacon Fat
  • 10.Quarter to Three
  • 11.She's Gotta Be Boss
  • 12.Beginning of the End
  • 13.Love Don't Treat Me Fair
  • 14.She Digs My Love
  • 15.When I Sing the Blues
  • 16.In the Jailhouse Now
  • 17.Please Just Say No
  • 18.In the Pines

Product Description:

Personnel: Doug Sahm (vocals, guitar); Frank Morin (saxophone, percussion); Peter Ferst (trumpet, organ); Augie Meyers (organ); Johnny Perez (drums).
Audio Mixer: Tom Moulton.
Varese Vintage's 2009 Complete Singles 1964-1966 is the latest in a long line of compilations that gather up the Sir Douglas Quintet's 7" releases for the Pacemaker and Tribe labels -- in other words, it stops just short of their Smash/Mercury recordings, cut when they were in San Franciscan exile and turned into cosmic American hippies. Within this decade, this material has been remastered impressively by Sundazed, who issued expanded editions of the group's two LPs, but Varese takes a different approach, assembling an 18-track collection of highlights. It's the singles plus three well-loved album cuts -- a rollicking "In the Jailhouse Now," a version of "In the Pines," plus "Please Just Say So" -- and everything has been mixed from the original master tapes for the first time, with nine songs presented in true stereo for the first time ever, including "The Tracker," "The Rains Came," "Bacon Fat," and their signature hit, "She's About a Mover." This mastering is top-notch, as are the selections; even though there are many comps that cover this same material, few sound as good or as complete as this, so this is both a good summary and introduction to the group's early years. Fanatics -- and Sir Doug & His Quintet do have devoted followers -- will find this necessary for the fidelity, yet there may be less dedicated fans who just stick with their Sundazed discs, because the aural improvements, while evident upon close inspection, are the kind that only serious listeners notice in the first place. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 8 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Sir Douglas Quintet

Product Info

  • UPC: 030206691528
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)