Curtis Jones The Complete Works, Volume 3: 1939-1940

The Complete Works, Volume 3: 1939-1940
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Sale: $16.18
SUPER SAVINGS: $15.16 Limited Time Only
List Price: $17.98
You Save: $2.82 (16% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  K4HJ
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Document


  • 1.What Evil Have I Done?
  • 2.It's A Hard Way To Travel
  • 3.I'm In The Mood For You
  • 4.Who You Lovin'
  • 5.I Like The Way You Do
  • 6.My Baby's Blues
  • 7.Private Talk Blues
  • 8.Blue And Lonesone
  • 9.Bosom Friend Blues
  • 10.Heavy Hip Mama
  • 11.Solid Jive
  • 12.Love In A Loving Way
  • 13.Gold Digger Blues
  • 14.Sugar Bowl Blues
  • 15.Treat Me Like I Treat You
  • 16.Heart Breaking Blues
  • 17.Moonlight Lover Blues
  • 18.Cradle Rockin Blues
  • 19.Day And Night Blues
  • 20.Love Land Blues
  • 21.Down Town Blues
  • 22.Blue Memories

Product Description:

Personnel: Curtis Jones (vocals, piano); Jazz Gillum (harmonica); Fred Williams (drums).
Audio Remasterer: Gerhard Wessely.
Liner Note Author: Victor Pearlin.
Recording information: 06/15/1939-09/20/1940.
The third volume in Document's complete reissued early works of singing blues pianist Curtis Jones contains 22 Vocalion, Okeh, and Bluebird recordings made in Chicago between June 1939 and September 1940. The first two tracks constitute the remaining titles from a session that featured vocalist Lillie Mae Kirkman, who made records with Memphis Slim & the House Rockers a few years later. The guitarist on "What Evil Have I Done?" and "It's a Hard Way to Travel," as well as tracks three through ten, was Hobson "Hot Box" Johnson, whose technique sometimes seems to be cross-threaded with the pianist's individualistic maneuverings. The drummer on most of these recordings was Bluebird's house percussionist Fred Williams; on tracks 15-22 (which also feature blues harpist Jazz Gillum) he is replaced by the venerable Judge Riley. Jones usually chose to sing about love, attraction, separation, and loneliness. Much of his material seems to have been cut out of the same fabric, woven directly from personal experience in his native Texas and up north in Chicago. One tune that stands out from the rest is "Solid Jive," a rare example of Jones adopting a jazzier swing style and mouthing "hepcat" lyrics. This lively number, as well as what appears to have been Jones' only known session involving a harmonica, makes VOL. 3 a particularly interesting and texturally varied choice.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Curtis Jones

Product Info

  • UPC: 714298529821
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)