Curtis Jones The Complete Works, Volume 2: 1938-1939

The Complete Works, Volume 2: 1938-1939
Price: $17.99
List Price: $19.99
You Save: $2 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  K4HG
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Document


  • 1.loving blues
  • 2.good whiskey
  • 3.pocket book blues
  • gypsy blues
  • 5.alley bound blues
  • 6.who you're hunchin'
  • 7.mistakes in life
  • dog man
  • 9.i'm with you again
  • 10.i'm losing my mind over you
  • 11.reefer hound blues
  • 12.war broke out in hell
  • 13.little girl, little girl
  • 14.night life blues
  • 15.hattie mae blues
  • 16.blues in the alley
  • 17.down in the gutter
  • 18.blues in the basement
  • i'm without a shelter
  • 20.sad, lonely and crying blues
  • 21.i'm fallin' for you baby
  • 22.roll me mama
  • 23.when you leave me honey (lillie mae kirkman, vcl)
  • 24.he's just my size (lillie mae kirkman, vcl)
  • 25.hop head blues (lillie mae kirkman, vcl)

Product Description:

Personnel: Curtis Jones (vocals, piano); Lillie Mae Kirkman (vocals, accordion); Hobson "Hop" Johnson (guitar).
Liner Note Author: Victor Pearlin.
Recording information: Vocalion, Chicago, IL (06/23/1938-06/15/1939).
Back in the 1990s, Document reissued the "complete recorded works" of singing blues pianist Curtis Jones in four volumes, covering the years 1937-1953. Volume two presented 25 sides dating from a 12-month period beginning and ending in the summers of 1938 and 1939. Jones was signed to Vocalion at the time, and the "Reefer Hound Blues" was so popular that it was also issued on the Sears, Roebuck & Co.'s Conqueror label (tracks 13 and 14). Fortunately for posterity, Vocalion and Bluebird were competing for record sales, and this resulted in large catalogs which today serve as valuable reservoirs of classic prewar blues. While some of the players remain unidentified (including an electrically amplified guitarist on tracks 7-12), we do know that Jones used guitarists Joe McCoy, Willie Bee, and, on tracks 15-25, Hobson "Hot Box" Johnson. Charlie McCoy plays mandolin on "Who You're Hunchin'" (which makes for an interesting comparison with a similarly titled record by the Chick Webb Orchestra); legendary Chicago session bassist Ransom Knowling has been positively identified on tracks 7 and 8, and the drummer on tracks 13-22 is believed to have been Fred Williams, another linchpin in the Chicago blues scene of the 1930s and a regular participant in sessions led by guitarist Big Bill Broonzy. This volume ends with the first three titles from a 1939 recording date that featured in part vocalist Lillie Mae Kirkman, who by the late '40s would make records with Memphis Slim and a group billed as Lillie Mae & the House Rockers. The remainder of the 1939 session's output opens the third volume of Curtis Jones on Document. ~ arwulf arwulf

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Curtis Jones

Product Info

  • UPC: 714298529722
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)