Gregory Isaacs One Man Against the World: The Best of Gregory Isaacs

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 5.0
1 rating
11 copies available
List Price: $11.98
Your Price: $10.78
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  VP 1476

CD Details

  • Released: November 26, 1996
  • Label: VP Records


  • 1.Private Secratary
  • 2.Front Door
  • 3.Soon Forward
  • 4.Mr. Brown
  • 5.Tumblin' Tears
  • 6.Tune In
  • 7.My Number 1
  • 8.Night Nurse
  • 9.One Man Against the World
  • 10.Border
  • 11.Rumours
  • 12.Hard Drugs
  • 13.Love Is Overdue
  • 14.Storm
  • 15.Top Ten

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Gregory Isaacs.
Producers: Gregory Isaacs, Alvin Ranglin, Tappa Zukie, Augustus "Gussie" Clarke.
Compilation producers: David Sanguinetti, Joel Chin, Vincent Edwards, Lloyd Campbell.
Personnel: Gregory Isaacs (vocals).
Photographer: Lee Able.
Any summary of Gregory Isaacs' recording career should emphasize his lovers rock sound without ignoring his prominent catalog highlights. This approach is undertaken by VP Records on their excellent One Man Against the World compilation. Isaacs' playful depictions of lovers' roles is well-represented by "Top Ten," "Private Secretary," and "Night Nurse," while his earlier love themes and stories are featured on seven more tracks, such as the fabulous "Tumblin' Tears" with its thumping rockers-style drum beat. The remainder of the collection emphasizes other threads in the story. "Border" and "Storm" showcase his approach to roots music; "Rumours," which ushered in a new dancehall era, underscores his dancefloor awareness; "Hard Drugs" takes on a topic that hounded him in the media; and the title track offers a bouncy, late-period summary of the Isaacs persona. While other compilations have successfully showcased his work in one era or for one label only, this collection offers a succinct overview of the continuity and the contrasts that make up the entire Gregory Isaacs story. ~ John Gonsalves

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Gregory Isaacs

Product Info:

  • UPC: 054645147620
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item