Gregory Isaacs The Best of Gregory Isaacs, Vols. 1-2

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.0
4 ratings
List Price: $17.98
Your Price: $16.18
You Save: $1.80 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Item:  HEAP 617597
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

CD Details

  • Released: May 1, 2001
  • Label: Heartbeat / Pgd


  • 1.Special Guest
  • 2.Willow Tree
  • 3.Breaking Up
  • 4.Double Attack
  • 5.My Number One
  • 6.No Speech, No Language
  • 7.Tear Drops
  • 8.Cool You
  • 9.Freedom
  • 10.Look Before You Leap
  • 11.No Footstool
  • 12.A Riot
  • 13.Once Ago
  • 14.Jailer
  • 15.Each Day
  • 16.Something Nice
  • 17.Tumbling Tears
  • 18.Village of the Under Privileged
  • 19.Payroll
  • 20.Border

Product Description:

This 20 track collection features many of the hits Gregory Isaacs recorded for Alvin Ranglin's G.G. Records.
Composer: Gregory Isaacs.
Personnel: Radcliffe Bryan (guitar).
Recording information: Channel One Studios, Kingston, Jamaica; Channel One, Kingston Jamaica; Harry J Recording Studio; Harry Jay's Recording Studio, Kingston, Jamaica.
Photographer: Jan Salzman.
Unknown Contributor Roles: R. Bryan; Dean Fraser; Radcliffe Bryan; Headly Rennett; Barnabus; Gladstone Anderson; Errol "Ranchie" McLean; Santa; Jimmy Becker; Robbie Shakespeare; Scully; Sky Juice; Sly Dunbar; The Tamlins; Winston Wright; Uziah "Sticky" Thompson; Bertram "Ranchie" McLean.
Originally released as two separate albums, the Heartbeat label now brings the pair together on one fabulous disc. And taken alongside My Number One and Love Is Overdue, this brings together virtually the entire lexicon of recordings Isaacs cut with producer Alvin Ranglin during the mid- to late '70s. Best Of is a bit of a misnomer, even in its day, suggesting both volumes compiled hit singles. In reality, the records mostly featured new material, with only a few recent chart busters thrown in for good measure, but events conspired to prove the accuracy of the titles. Volume One boasts the mighty "My Number One," which had already torn up the Jamaican chart, the seductive "Special Guest," the rootsy perfection of "No Speech," the exquisite pain of "Tear Drops," a sublime cover of "Willow Tree," the haunting "Cool You" -- in fact, there's not a song on the record that didn't deserve single status. Out of the aforementioned six, four were massive hits and swiftly gained classic status. Volume Two is fired by a quartet of tough cultural songs -- the fierce "A Riot," the simmering "Jailer," a heartfelt "Village of the Under Privileged," and the powerful return-to-Africa-themed "Border" -- intercut with lovers offerings, notably the evocative "Once Again" and the gorgeous "Tumbling Tears," another classic. Both albums were recorded with the Revolutionaries, whose percolating beats (Sly & Robbie, of course) power the album, with the rest of the band laying down a musical accompaniment that shifts between lovers rock and rockers style, that perfectly backs Isaacs own emotive, yet gentle, vocals. Ranglin keeps it all simmering, creating a pair of albums that indeed featured some of the singer's best. ~ Jo-Ann Greene

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.0
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Gregory Isaacs

Product Info:

  • UPC: 011661759725
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item