Roy Harvey The Complete Recorded Works, Volume 2: 1928-1929

The Complete Recorded Works, Volume 2: 1928-1929
Price: $17.99
List Price: $19.99
You Save: $2 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  GE73
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: October 25, 1999
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Document


  • 1.The Bluefield Murder
  • 2.I'll Be There, Mary Dear
  • 3.What Is Home Without Love
  • 4.As We Parted at the Gate
  • 5.There's a Mother Old and Gray Who Needs Me Now
  • 6.There'll Come a Time
  • 7.Sweet Refrain
  • 8.Budded Roses
  • 9.Take Me Back to Home and Mother
  • 10.George Collins
  • 11.Steamboat Man
  • 12.When the Roses Bloom for the Bootlegger
  • 13.Poor Little Joe
  • 14.We Parted at the Gate
  • 15.The Yodeling Mule
  • 16.The Cowboy's Lullaby
  • 17.The Bootlegger's Dream of Home
  • 18.The Railroad Blues
  • 19.Keep Bachelor's Hall
  • 20.Kitty Waltz Yodel
  • 21.Just Pickin'
  • 22.Beckley Rag
  • 23.Underneath the Sugar Moon
  • 24.Lonesome Weary Blues

Product Description:

Full title: Complete Recorded Works In Chronological Order: Vol. 2 (1928-1929).
Personnel includes: Roy Harvey, North Carolina Ramblers, Earl Shirkey, Leonard Copeland.
Personnel: Roy Harvey (vocals, guitar); Posey Rorer (flute).
Recording information: 02/16/1928-10/22/1929.
The second installment in Document's multi-volume series covering the work of old-time country guitarist and singer Roy Harvey in chronological order has 24 recordings, spanning February 16, 1928, to October 22, 1929. Actually, none of these are billed to Harvey alone; ten have him accompanied by the North Carolina Ramblers, ten are duets with yodeler Earl Shirkey (on four of which Harvey is credited as Roy Harper), and four are instrumental guitar duets with Leonard Copeland. This disc is an improvement on the previous volume of this series, if for nothing else than offering considerably greater variety. It's still something of a CD for die-hard collectors of the plainly sung, narrative-flavored old-time country-folk Appalachian style. But even the ten sides with the North Carolina Ramblers from February 1928 that fall closest to Harper's earlier work are livelier than the material that appears on the first volume of the series. The cuts with Shirkey might get tiresome for those not enamored of Jimmie Rodgers-inspiring yodeling, but they do include a big hit of the period, "When the Roses Bloom for the Bootlegger," actually a parody of the song "I'll Be with You When the Roses Bloom Again." ~ Richie Unterberger

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Roy Harvey

Product Info

  • UPC: 714298805123
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)