Roy Harvey The Complete Recorded Works, Volume 1

The Complete Recorded Works, Volume 1
List Price: $15.99
Price: $14.39
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  K4G2
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: October 25, 1999
  • Label: Document


  • 1.The Brave Engineer
  • 2.Dark Eyes
  • 3.Willie, Poor Boy
  • 4.When the Bees Are in the Hive
  • 5.Daisies Won't Tell
  • 6.The Wreck of Virginian No. 3
  • 7.Please Papa Come Home
  • 8.The Old Clay Pipe
  • 9.Write a Letter to My Mother
  • 10.Poor Little Joe
  • 11.We Will Outshine the Sun
  • 12.Walking on the Streets of Glory
  • 13.I Cannot Call Her Mother
  • 14.Pearl Bryant
  • 15.Take Back the Ring
  • 16.Willie My Darling
  • 17.Give My Love to Nell
  • 18.My Mother and My Sweetheart
  • 19.She Is Only a Bird in a Gilded Cage
  • 20.Bill Mason
  • 21.Kitty Blye
  • 22.I'm Glad I'm Married
  • 23.Sweet Sunny South
  • 24.Blue Eyes

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Roy Harvey (vocals, guitar); Charlie Poole, Bob Hoke (banjo); Posey Rover (fiddle).
Recorded in 1926 & 1927. Includes liner notes by Tony Russell.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Personnel: Roy Harvey (vocals, guitar); Charlie Poole (banjo); Posey Rorer (fiddle).
Audio Remasterer: Gerhard Wessely.
Liner Note Author: Tony Russell.
Recording information: Atlanta, GA (09/17/1926-10/??/1927); Chicago, IL (09/17/1926-10/??/1927); New York, NY (09/17/1926-10/??/1927).
The first installment in Document's multi-volume series covering the work of old-time country guitarist and singer Roy Harvey presents the first two dozen of his known recordings in chronological order, all done in 1927 with the exception of one 1926 track. Only a few of these are actually billed to Roy Harvey as a solo artist, the compilation also including sessions co-credited to Harvey and Bob Hoke and Harvey and Posey Rorer, as well as ones on which he played with or as part of the North Carolina Ramblers. Those listeners familiar with the most well-known member of the Ramblers, Charlie Poole (who's only on a couple of these sides), will know more or less what to expect from these recordings featuring Harvey: old-time Appalachian folk, on the cusp of making a transition into early country music. Even more than reissues on which Poole is featured, however, this Harvey collection might be more for specific fans of the genre than for general country or folk listeners. Most of the songs follow a plaintive singsongy, storytelling structure, and while a cut-to-cut similarity is found in many single-artist compilations of early American roots music, it's a greater factor to contend with on this CD than it is on the typical such anthology. Still, Harvey had his role to play in the early recorded history of the style, and as is standard for the Document label, this collection documents it rigorously. There's unavoidable surface noise and variable sound quality, but on the whole the transfer of the material from the rare source discs is well done and the fidelity quite listenable. ~ Richie Unterberger

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Roy Harvey

Product Info

  • UPC: 714298805024
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)