The Golden Gate Quartet The Complete Recorded Works in Chronological Order, Volume 6: 1949-1952

The Complete Recorded Works in Chronological
Price: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  A6RY
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Document


  • 1.Seven Angels and Seven Trumpets
  • 2.Lord I Want to Be a Christian
  • 3.You Ain't Got Faith ('Till You Got Religion)
  • 4.Religion Is a Fortune
  • 5.Satisfied
  • 6.Lord I Want to Walk with Thee
  • 7.There's a Man Going 'Round Taking Names
  • 8.Didn't That Man Believe
  • 9.Same Train
  • 10.Ride on Moses
  • 11.Look Up!
  • 12.Listen to the Lambs
  • 13.Hold the Wind
  • 14.Nicodemus
  • 15.On Top of Old Smokey
  • 16.Mother's Love
  • 17.Bones, Bones, Bones
  • 18.You Better Mind
  • 19.I Just Telephone Upstairs
  • 20.Rain Is the Teardrops of Angels
  • 21.Hit the Road to Dreamland
  • 22.The General Jumped at Dawn

Product Description:

Audio Remasterer: Gerhard Wessely.
Liner Note Author: Keith Briggs.
The sixth and final volume in Document's Golden Gate Quartet chronology opens in 1949, not long after they signed with Mercury Records, and extends into the year 1952. Although some of the group's output from this period sounds like the neatly measured pop music purveyed by the Mills Brothers during the Truman era, some of these performances could make you sit up and take notice. "Seven Angels and Seven Trumpets," for example, is the most stirring performance on the entire collection. Other high points are "Lord I Want to Walk with Thee," "Didn't That Man Believe," "Ride on Moses," "Bones, Bones, Bones," and "You Better Mind." With "Nicodemus" and "Look Up!," the Gates adopt a smooth swinging groove, and a recurring rhythm section is most supportive on "I Just Telephone Upstairs." The strangest number from this part of their discography is "On Top of Old Smokey," in which sternly delivered "sing along" calls are provided for those who don't know the arcane lyrics. Document's 15-year Golden Gate retrospective ends with two bonus film soundtrack excerpts that predate the rest of the material on this disc by as much as ten years. The nearly five-minute "Hit the Road to Dreamland," with Mary Martin and Dick Powell, comes from Star Spangled Rhythm (1942), while "The General Jumped at Dawn" was used in Hollywood Canteen (1944). The Golden Gate Quartet also appeared with Louis Armstrong and Virginia Mayo in A Song Is Born (1948), which starred comedian Danny Kaye. There were decades of international success ahead for the Gates, as they toured Europe in 1955 and made a permanent move to Paris four years later. With fresh voices appearing whenever someone left the group, the Golden Gates endured as one of the longest-lasting definitive gospel groups of all time. ~ arwulf arwulf

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Golden Gate Quartet

Product Info

  • UPC: 714298565829
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)