The Golden Gate Quartet The Complete Recorded Works in Chronological Order, Volume 4: 1939-1943

The Complete Recorded Works in Chronological
2 ratings
Price: $16.18
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  A6RV
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: September 1, 1996
  • Label: Document


  • 1.My Prayer
  • 2.What Did Jesus Say?
  • 3.The Valley of Time
  • 4.Daniel Saw the Stone
  • 5.Jezebel
  • 6.Time's Winding Up
  • 7.God Told Nicodemus - (previously unreleased)
  • 8.The Sun Didn't Shine
  • 9.Blind Barnabas
  • 10.Anyhow
  • 11.Didn't It Rain
  • 12.Toll the Bell Easy
  • 13.He Never Said a Mumblin' Word
  • 14.Moses Smote the Water
  • 15.Handwriting on the Wall - (previously unreleased)
  • 16.Run On
  • 17.Dip Your Fingers in the Water
  • 18.My Time Done Come - (previously unreleased)
  • 19.Stalin Wasn't Stallin'
  • 20.Comin' in on a Wing and a Prayer
  • 21.Julius Caesar
  • 22.Summer Rain
  • 23.The Gospel Train
  • 24.The Preacher and the Bear

Product Description:

Recorded between 1939 & 1943.
Personnel: Henry Owens (vocals, tenor); Willie Connell Johnson (vocals, baritone, bass voice); Arlandus Wilson (vocals, bass voice); William Langford (tenor); Conrad Frederick (piano).
Audio Remasterer: Gerhard Wessely.
Liner Note Author: Keith Briggs.
Vol. 4 in Document's comprehensive history of the Golden Gate Quartet begins with three devotional songs recorded for Victor/Bluebird in late December 1939. Their final Victor session took place in June 1940 when they backed gutsy folksinger Leadbelly on six amazing sides, including "Midnight Special," "Pick a Bale of Cotton," "Rock Island Line," and "Whoa Back, Buck (Whoa God Damn)." Although these gems are not reproduced here, they have been reissued under Leadbelly's name (Leadbelly's four-CD box on JSP is highly recommended). Before the year was out, William Langford, who had been with the group since before its first recording date in 1937, left the organization and formed a unit to be known as the Southern Sons. In December 1940 the Gates backed vocalist Joshua White on a Library of Congress recording session with Clyde Reddick filling the gap left by the departure of Langford. It wasn't until April 1941 that the Gates resumed recording, now for Columbia and its OKeh subsidiary. It was at this point that the word "Jubilee" was permanently dropped, officially abbreviating their name to the Golden Gate Quartet. Tracks four through 15 constitute their entire output from 1941, a year that began auspiciously with their appearance at Franklin D. Roosevelt's inaugural ball, where they made history as the first African-American ensemble ever to sing at Constitution Hall. By the time they recorded "Run On," "Dip Your Fingers in the Water," and "My Time Done Come" in late March 1942, the United States was thoroughly embroiled in the Second World War. This volume closes with the little bit of material the Gates were able to wax during the following year. The wartime offerings "Stalin Wasn't Stallin'" and "Comin' in on a Wing and a Prayer" are followed by four brief performances issued on the Armed Forces V-Disc series. During this period the group appeared in the motion pictures Star Spangled Rhythm (1942) and Hit Parade of 1943. More than any previous volume in Document's Golden Gate Quartet retrospective, this segment of their story reveals a great ensemble in transition. ~ arwulf arwulf

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Golden Gate Quartet

Product Info

  • UPC: 714298547528
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)