Cow Cow Davenport Accompanist

Price: $21.66
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  QQWY
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: May 1, 1993
  • Label: Blues Document


  • 1.You Might Pizen Me
  • 2.Good Woman's Blues
  • 3.He Don't Mean Me No Harm
  • 4.Black Girl Gets There Just the Same
  • 5.Fifth Street Blues
  • 6.You Got Another Thought Coming to You(If You Think You're Gonna Get What I Got)
  • 7.Hound Head Blues
  • 8.Frieght Train Special
  • 9.Steamboat Blues
  • 10.Cryin' Blues
  • 11.Laughin' Blues
  • 12.Low Down Hound Blues
  • 13.My Silver Dollar Mama
  • 14.Rooster Crowin' Blues
  • 15.I've Been Hoodooed
  • 16.Buckwheat Cakes
  • 17.Plenty Gals Blues
  • 18.Lighthouse Blues
  • 19.Runnin' Wild
  • 20.It's Tight Like That
  • 21.The Lover and the Beggar
  • 22.You Rascal You

Product Description:

Like many African American pianists of his generation, Cow Cow Davenport made ends meet during the 1920s by providing accompaniment for blues and jazz vocalists in established or temporary recording studios. In order to illustrate this aspect of his career and bring more rare material out of the woodwork, 22 sides cut during the years 1924-1929 were reissued by Document in 1994. The first six titles are sung by Dora Carr in duet with Davenport, drawing upon the repertoire they shared while touring the Southern vaudeville circuit a few years earlier with a small troupe bearing Davenport's name. Tracks 7-14, which were recorded in 1928, feature the robust theatrical singing of Hound Head Henry who laughs, cries, and imitates birds, trains and boat whistles. Jim Towel, who sings "I've Been Hoodooed" and "Buckwheat Cakes," touches upon a form of folksy musical entertainment dating back to the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Memphis Joe, who was responsible for the "Plenty Gals Blues," had a warm burr to his voice similar to that of Cow Cow's. Comparable to the many African American vocal groups whose recordings have been reissued in multiple volumes by Document, the Southern Blues Singers handled both sacred and secular songs. They sound especially jazzy on "Runnin' Wild" and "It's Tight Like That," which lead directly and logically into a pair of topical tunes sung by hokum specialist Lovin' Sam Theard, including that singer's most famous creation, "You Rascal You." This entertaining collection of blues, folk, and jazz from the '20s can stand on its own or work as an essential counterweight to Cow Cow Davenport's primary recordings which have been reissued by Document and its affiliated label, Classic Blues. ~ arwulf arwulf

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Cow Cow Davenport

Product Info

  • UPC: 714298604023
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)
Memorial Day: 10am-6pm