Ida Cox Complete Recorded Works, Volume 5 (1939-1940) [Austrian Import]

Complete Recorded Works, Volume 5 (1939-1940)
Price: $16.18
List Price: $17.98
You Save: $1.80 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  QQWQ
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Document


  • 1.Deep Sea Blues [Take 1]
  • 2.Deep Sea Blues [Take 2]
  • 3.Death Letter Blues [Take 1]
  • 4.Death Letter Blues [Take 4]
  • 5.One Hour Mama [Take 4]
  • 6.One Hour Mama (Breakdown) [Take 5]
  • 7.One Hour Mama [Take 6]
  • 8.Four Day Creep
  • 9.Pink Slip Blues
  • 10.Hard Times Blues
  • 11.Take Him Off My Mind
  • 12.Last Mile Blues [Take 1]
  • 13.Last Mile Blues [Take 2]
  • 14.I Ain't Gonna Let Nobody Break My Heart
  • 15.I Can't Quit That Man [Take 1]
  • 16.I Can't Quit That Man [Take 2]
  • 17.I Can't Quit That Man [Take 3]
  • 18.You Got to Swing and Sway [Take 1]
  • 19.You Got to Swing and Sway [Take 2]

Product Description:

Personnel: Ida Cox (vocals); Charlie Christian (guitar); Edmond Hall (clarinet); Billy Taylor , Artie Bernstein (bass saxophone); Henry "Red" Allen, Hot Lips Page (trumpet); J.C. Higginbotham (trombone); Cliff Jackson & His Crazy Cats, James P. Johnson & His Orchestra, Fletcher Henderson, James P. Johnson (piano); Jimmie Hoskins, Lionel Hampton (drums).
Audio Remasterer: Gerhard Wessely.
Liner Note Author: John Cowley.
Recording information: New York, NY (10/31/1939-12/29/1940).
Unknown Contributor Role: Ida Cox & Her All-Star Band.
Other than an album from 1961, this CD has blues singer Ida Cox's final recordings. The first seven selections (which include a previously unreleased "One Hour Mama") has four additional alternate takes. Cox is heard in 1939 backed by an accurately-titled "all-star band" that consists of trumpeter Hot Lips Page, trombonist J.C. Higginbotham, clarinetist Edmond Hall, either James P. Johnson or Fletcher Henderson on piano, guitarist Charlie Christian, bassist Artie Bernstein and Lionel Hampton on drums. Although her prime was considered the 1920s, Ida Cox on "Death Letter Blues" and "Four Day Creep" still sounds pretty strong. The remainder of this CD is taken from a 1940 session with trumpeter Red Allen, Higginbotham, Hall, pianist Cliff Jackson, bassist Billy Taylor, and drummer Jimmy Hoskins that resulted in four titles and four alternate takes; only two performances were released previously, but Cox's singing is excellent. It is a pity that because musical styles had changed, Ida Cox was largely forgotten during this period. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Ida Cox

Product Info

  • UPC: 714298565126
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)