Esther Bigeou Complete Recorded Works 1921-1923

Esther Bigeou: Complete Recorded Works 1921-1923
Price: $16.18
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  QQV4
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: November 1, 1996
  • Label: Document


  • 1.The Memphis Blues
  • 2.The St. Louis Blues
  • 3.Stingaree Blues (A Down Home Blues)
  • 4.Nervous Blues
  • 5.If That's What You Want Here It Is
  • 6.Aggravatin' Papa (Don't You Try to Two-Time Me)
  • 7.Four O'Clock Blues
  • 8.I'm Through with You (As I Can Be)
  • 9.Beale Street Mama
  • 10.Outside of That, He's All Right with Me
  • 11.The Gulf Coast Blues
  • 12.Beale Street Blues
  • 13.The Hesitating Blues
  • 14.That Twa-Twa Tune
  • 15.Panama Limited Blues
  • 16.You Ain't Treatin' Me Right
  • 17.West Indies Blues
  • 18.If That's What You Want Here It Is - (bonus track)
  • 19.Ever Lovin' Blues - (bonus track)
  • 20.Bad Land Blues - (bonus track)
  • 21.Jazz Me Blues, The - (bonus track)
  • 22.Panama Limited Blues - (bonus track)
  • 23.Tia Juana Man - (bonus track)
  • 24.Lonely Blues - (bonus track)
  • 25.How Long - (bonus track)

Product Description:

/Lillyn Brown/Alberta Brown/Ada Brown.
In order to fully appreciate the only known recordings by long lost New Orleans chanteuse Esther Bigeou (c.1895-c.1936), you'll need to forget all about conventional standards for jazz and blues singing. Esther Bigeou was a full-time touring vaudeville actress who cut her first gramophone recordings during the autumn of 1921 and made her last appearance on record in December of 1923. Her method of presentation was radically different from what came to be expected from female vocalists later on in the decade. Using her voice to accentuate the content of the lyrics rather than the tonal nuances of the songs, this woman muscled her way through each performance, singing with feeling but without polish, backed by almost entirely anonymous vaudeville pit bands. The mysterious sounds of these alternately sleepy or bouncy ensembles belong entirely to their day and can never be re-created by postmodern musicians. Esther Bigeou handled a number of W.C. Handy compositions but her recordings will be best appreciated as precious vaudevillian relics. Nine of her performances have intimate piano accompaniments by Clarence Williams, allowing the listener to savor her honest and unpretentious style. Her all-time best recording was to be her last. Splendidly backed by Armand J. Piron's New Orleans Orchestra, Esther Bigeou delivered a spirited rendition of the rousing "West Indies Blues," quit making records, went back on the road, retired in 1935, and passed away in New Orleans around 1936. This fascinating Document compilation also pays tribute to three entertainers who shared the surname "Brown." Tracks 18 through 21 comprise the only known recordings of Afro-Iroquois-American vaudevillian and male impersonator Lillyn Brown (1895-1969). Backed by her Jazzbo Syncopators (also known as the Syncopated Syncopators), Brown carries on in high-flown vaudeville style, emitting whoops and hollers while the Syncopators (containing reedman Garvin Bushell) diligently hold the ground in a manner perfectly appropriate for Afro-American entertainment during the spring of 1921. Ada Brown's career began in Kansas City but took her as far away as Paris and Berlin. Her inclusion on this compilation adds a welcome shot of feisty, full-throated blues shouting, comparable in some ways to the music of Bessie Smith. Ada Brown may be heard on certain Bennie Moten records, and in a famous duet with Fats Waller during the 1943 motion picture Stormy Weather. Almost nothing is known about Alberta Brown. She is said to have originated in Dallas, TX, and made only one two-sided record in New Orleans on April 25, 1928. Her accompanists are believed to have been cornetist Abbie Brunies, clarinetist Sidney Arodin, pianist Red Long, and tuba man Chink Martin. This woman was a real blues singer -- her delivery is passionate and soulful, relaxed and ruminative. ~ arwulf arwulf

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 714298548921
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)