Biddleville Quintette The Complete Recorded Works, Volume 2: 1929

The Complete Recorded Works, Volume 2: 1929
Price: $17.99
List Price: $19.99
You Save: $2 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  DA2A
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: June 1, 1995
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Document


  • 1.The Lord Giveth
  • 2.Jesus Is Gonna Shake My Righteous Hand
  • 3.Got the Heaven in My View
  • 4.Coming to Christ
  • 5.I Heard the Voice of Jesus Say
  • 6.Pharoah's Army Got Drowned
  • 7.Handwriting on the Wall
  • 8.Judas and Jesus Walked Together
  • 9.Goin' to Heaven Anyway
  • 10.Jesus Is a Rock in the Weary Land
  • 11.Blessed Be the Tie That Binds
  • 12.I Stretch My Hand to Thee
  • 13.I'm Going Up to Live with God
  • 14.As I Live Let Me Live in Love
  • 15.I'm Tormented in the Flame
  • 16.Dip in the Beautiful Stream
  • 17.I'm Going to Sit at the Welcome Table
  • 18.I'm Going to Serve God till I Die
  • 19.I Want God's Bosom to Be Mine
  • 20.Join the Band
  • 21.Oh! Glory Glory

Product Description:

Audio Remasterer: Gerhard Wessely.
Liner Note Author: Ray Funk.
Recording information: Chicago, IL (09/1926-04/1929); New York, NY (09/1926-04/1929).
The immediacy that made the Biddleville Quintette come across so well on the first volume of their complete works as reissued by Document is even more in evidence on the second volume, which is filled out with bonus tracks by the Birmingham Jubilee Singers and the Silver Leaf Quartette of Norfolk; the primary recordings by both of those groups have also been reissued by Document. Named for the Biddleville section of northern Charlotte, NC, the Quintette preserved for posterity the organic intensity of early 20th century African American congregational singing. The first six selections on volume two were recorded for QRS in New York in April 1929 and include "The Lord Giveth (And the Lord Taketh Away)," the rousing "Pharoah's Army Got Drowned" (its melody recognizable as the labor and civil rights anthem "We Shall Not Be Moved"), and the gospel song "I Heard the Voice of Jesus Say," which had been wryly parodied in September 1928 by bluesman Blind Bogus Ben Covington on his Paramount recording "I Heard the Voice of a Pork Chop." Originally released on Paramount, tracks 7-16 come from the Quintette's final recording session which took place on August 1, 1929. In many ways, these are the best records the group ever made. Choice cuts are "Handwriting on the Wall", "Goin' to Heaven Anyway," "I'm Going Up to Live with God," "Judas and Jesus Walked Together" (which is enlivened by rhythmic handclapping), and the authentically inspired "Dip in the Beautiful Stream." Particularly on their last recordings, the Biddlevilles come across as considerably more freewheeling than many of their contemporaries. ~ arwulf arwulf

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Biddleville Quintette

Product Info

  • UPC: 714298536225
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)