The Allen Brothers The Complete Recorded Works in Chronological Order, Volume 3: 5 December 1932 to 8 October 1934

The Complete Recorded Works in Chronological
1 rating
Price: $14.39
List Price: $15.99
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  QQSW
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: January 9, 2001
  • Label: Document


  • 1.Red Hot Rambling Dan
  • 2.When a Man's Got a Woman
  • 3.Rough Neck Blues
  • 4.Slipping Clutch Blues
  • 5.Please Pay in Advance
  • 6.Allen's Lying Blues
  • 7.Midnight Mama
  • 8.Baby When You Coming Back Home
  • 9.Long Gone From Bowling Green
  • 10.Red Pajama Sal
  • 11.New Deal Blues
  • 12.Mercy Mercy Blues
  • 13.Padlock Key Blues
  • 14.Daddy Park Your Car
  • 15.Salty Dog, Hey Hey Hey
  • 16.Hey Buddy, Won't You Roll Down the Line
  • 17.Allen Brothers' Rag
  • 18.Skippin' and Flyin'
  • 19.The Prisoner's Dream
  • 20.Drunk and Nutty Blues
  • 21.Misbehavin' Mama
  • 22.Midnight Mama
  • 23.Chattanooga Mama

Product Description:

The Allen Brothers: Austin Allen (vocals, banjo, harmonica); Lee Allen (vocals, kazoo).
Recorded between December 5, 1932 and October 8, 1934. Includes liner notes by Tony Russell.
Digitally remastered by Gerhard Wessely (Soundborn).
Personnel: Lee Allen (vocals, guitar, kazoo); Austin Allen (vocals, banjo, harmonica).
Audio Remasterer: Gerhard Wessely.
Recording information: Camden, NJ (12/05/1932-10/08/1934); New York, NY (12/05/1932-10/08/1934).
The last of three CDs that contain all of the recordings by the pioneering country duo the Allen Brothers has two sessions from 1932 and their four dates (from a five-day period) that ended their recording careers in October 1934. The group did not change its style at all from its first sessions in 1927, and was fortunate to record so much during the peak years of the Depression. Most of these titles were formerly quite rare, and there are three previously unreleased tracks. As usual, the interplay between Austin Allen (vocals and banjo) and Lee Allen (kazoo, guitar, and vocals) is quite appealing, and their brand of country music often shows the similarity between country, string band music, and blues. Among their 23 final recordings are "Slipping Clutch Blues," "Midnight Mama," "Long Gone From Bowling Green," "New Deal Blues," "Salty Dog, Hey Hey Hey," "Allen Brothers' Rag," and "Drunk and Nutty Blues." ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Allen Brothers

Product Info

  • UPC: 714298803525
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)