Joe Bataan Mestizo [Unidisc]

Mestizo [Unidisc]
1 rating
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  DCXE
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: November 4, 2003
  • Label: Unidisc Records


  • 1.Mestizo
  • 2.Rap - O Clap - O
  • 3.Sadie (She Smokes)
  • 4.Latin Lover
  • 5.Rock Me All Night Long
  • 6.I See Your Hiney
  • 7.Rap - O Dance - O
  • 8.Always and Forever
  • 9.Rap - O Clap - O
  • 10.Sadie (She Smokes)
  • 11.Rap - O Clap - O [Instrumental]
  • 12.Rap - O Clap - O

Product Description:

Personnel: Joe Bataan (piano, percussion, background vocals); Leon Bryant (piano, keyboards, background vocals); Frank Owens (piano, keyboards); Jimmy Young , Allan Schwartzberg (drums); Mestizo (background vocals).
Audio Mixers: Joe Arlotta; Joe Lopes; Pat Martin .
Recording information: Blank Tapes; RCA, N.Y.C.
Photographer: Joe Bataan.
Arranger: Marty Sheller.
Culturally, mestizos are folks of mixed Latin and Indian heritage who live along the U.S./Mexico borderlands; Filipino-born Joe Bataan felt enough of that same duality to name his record label Salsoul (salsa plus soul, see) and to name his late-'70s backing group his Mestizo Band. A retitled reissue of 1980's Mestizo, with no bonus tracks and most of the songs edited into lengthy suites, Joe Bataan and His Mestizo Band is primarily a late-era disco record, with only minimal Latin accents on songs like the by-the-numbers opener, "Mestizo." However, by 1980, Bataan was susssed enough to tell not only that disco was dying, but that something new was taking its place: the single "Rap-O Clap-O" was one of the first examples of R&B glomming onto the new sound, a pale rewrite of "Rapper's Delight" that today sounds oddly charming in how naff it is, and that sense of not-quite-rightness is enhanced later in the song's rather pointless reiteration "Rap-O Dance-O," which simply boosts the bass and wah-wah guitar a little louder than the vocals. Still, none of this compares to the album's monumentally odd high point, "I See Your Hiney," which has both the album's most attractive beat and a chorus that warrants quoting in full: "I see your hiney/It's black and shiny/If you don't hide it/I'm gonna bite it." Only during the disco era, folks. ~ Stewart Mason

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Joe Bataan

Product Info

  • UPC: 068381242822
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)