Count Basie At Birdland (Live)

At Birdland (Live)
5 ratings
Price: $12.58
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $1.40 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  DJ25
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: August 14, 2007
  • Label: Blue Note Records


  • 1.Little Pony
  • 2.Basie
  • 3.Blues Backstage
  • 4.Blee Blop Blues
  • 5.Whirly-Bird - (Vocal Version)
  • 6.One O'Clock Jump - (Theme)
  • 7.Good Time Blues
  • 8.Segue in C
  • 9.One O'Clock Jump
  • 10.Easin' It
  • 11.A Little Tempo, Please
  • 12.Corner Pocket
  • 13.I Needs to Be Bee'd With
  • 14.Discommotion
  • 15.Segue in C - (Alternate Take)
  • 16.Whirly-Bird
  • 17.One O'Clock Jump - (Theme)

Product Description:

Personnel: Count Basie (piano); Jon Hendricks (vocals); Freddie Green (guitar); Frank Wess, Marshall Royal (alto saxophone); Frank Foster, Budd Johnson (tenor saxophone); Charlie Fowlkes (baritone saxophone); Lennie Johnson, Snooky Young, Thad Jones, Sonny Cohn (trumpet); Henry Coker, Quentin Jackson, Benny Powell (trombone); Eddie Jones (bass guitar); Sonny Payne (drums).
Audio Remasterer: Malcolm Addey.
When this album was recorded (live) in 1961, the Count Basie orchestra was experiencing a massive resurgence. No longer known only as "one of the stars of the Swing Era," Basie's big band got a major shot in the arm (in the late '50s & early '60s) via the dynamic compositions and arrangements of Neal Hefti, Frank Foster (also tenor saxophonist), and Ernie Wilkins. (A few years hence, Basie and band would go on to accompany Ol' Blue Eyes himself, Frank Sinatra, both live and in the studio.) Basie's outfit of the day featured such talents as Thad Jones, Frank Wess, and guest singer Jon Hendricks. Which isn't to say the Count wouldn't revisit his own past triumphs--such as "One O'Clock Jump"--but BIRDLAND is primarily the "new" Basie outfit in all its roaring, hard-swinging glory.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.4
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Count Basie

Product Info

  • UPC: 094639744923
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)