Bauhaus Crackle: Best of Bauhaus

Crackle: Best of Bauhaus
35 ratings
Only 5 copies left
Price: $14.38
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  DHSS
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: July 7, 1998
  • Label: Beggars Uk - Ada


  • 1.Double Dare
  • 2.In the Flat Field
  • 3.The Passion of Lovers
  • 4.Bela Lugosi's Dead
  • 5.The Sanity Assassin
  • 6.She's in Parties
  • 7.Silent Hedges
  • 8.Hollow Hills
  • 9.Mask
  • 10.Kick in the Eye
  • 11.Ziggy Stardust
  • 12.Dark Entries
  • 13.Terror Couple Kill Colonel
  • 14.Spirit
  • 15.Burning from the Inside
  • 16.Crowds

Product Description:

Bauhaus: Peter Murphy (vocals); Daniel Ash (guitar); David J (bass); Kevin Haskins (drums, percussion).
Personnel: Peter Murphy (vocals); Daniel Ash (guitar); Kevin Haskins (drums, percussion).
Audio Remasterer: John Dent.
Photographer: Dominic Davies.
Translator: Coleman Barks.
CRACKLE is the second of Bauhaus' greatest-hits albums, following the import-only 1979-1983. The major difference between the two sets is that CRACKLE eliminates most of the cover versions that appeared on the earlier collection. The track listing draws from Bauhaus' entire career-from the defining first single, "Bela Lugosi's Dead," all the way through "She's In Parties" and the title track of the band's final album, BURNING FROM THE INSIDE. All tracks have been remastered. This is especially evident on the band's earliest work. "Dark Entries" and "Double Dare" are afforded a cleaner sound, adding to their power.
The lone cover included is a version of "Ziggy Stardust," a David Bowie classic that clearly influenced the band. Though they will always be labeled as founding forefathers of the "Goth" rock movement, Bauhaus were never constrained by the label. "Terror Couple Kill Colonel" features a gentle, swaying groove. "Silent Hedges" is built on a foundation of acoustic guitar and a chunky, distorted bass line. "Spirit" features dueling guitars and a harpsichord. The collection concludes with one of the band's most emotive tracks, "Crowds," a pretty piano-based song wherein tortured vocalist Peter Murphy wonders "What do you want of me?"

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 35 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Bauhaus

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 91,369
  • UPC: 607618201821
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)