Have Mercy! The Songs of Don Covay [Import]
by Various Artists

Have Mercy! The Songs of Don Covay [Import]
1 rating
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $14.81 Limited Time Only
List Price: $16.99
You Save: $2.18 (13% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  XAX4
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: July 3, 2012
  • Label: Ace Records Uk

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - p.105
4 stars out of 5 -- "His songs penned while at Atlantic and Mercury remain high points..."


  • 1.Three Time Loser - Wilson Pickett
  • 2.Chain of Fools - Aretha Franklin
  • 3.This Old Town (People In This Town) - The Staple Singers
  • 4.You're Good For Me - Solomon Burke
  • 5.I Don't Know What You've Got But It's Got Me - Little Richard
  • 6.Pony Time - Chubby Checker
  • 7.There's A Party Goin' On - Wanda Jackson
  • 8.Long Tall Shorty - The Graham Bond Organization
  • 9.Mercy Mercy - The Wailers
  • 10.Mr Twister - Connie Francis
  • 11.Love Bug - Lena Horne
  • 12.Don't Drive Me Away - Ben E King
  • 13.Give - Mary Ann Fisher
  • 14.Letter Full of Tears - Billy Fury
  • 15.You Can Run (But You Can't Hide) - Jerry Butler
  • 16.Come See About Me - Gladys Knight & The Pips
  • 17.Shoes - Brook Benton With The Dixie Flyers
  • 18.Sookie Sookie - Tina Britt
  • 19.See Saw - Cliff Bennett & The Rebel Rousers
  • 20.Kangaroo Hop - Dee Clark
  • 21.A Big Fat Saturday Night - Gene Vincent
  • 22.Mon Cherie Au Revoir - Arlene Smith
  • 23.The Continental Walk - The Rollers
  • 24.I'm Gonna Take What He's Got - Etta James
  • 25.She Said Yeah - Joe Tex
  • 26.Watch The One Who Brings You The News - Millie Jackson

Product Description:

Tributee: Don Covay.
Liner Note Authors: Malcolm Baumgart; Mick Patrick.
Illustrators: Malcolm Baumgart; Alec Palao; Peter Gibbon; Roger Armstrong; Mick Patrick.
As influential as he was as a performer -- and he was, with Mick Jagger owing him a hefty debt -- Don Covay also had a considerable legacy as a songwriter, penning such legendary hits as Wilson Pickett's "Three Time Loser" and Aretha Franklin's "Chain of Fools," along with the soul standards "Mercy Mercy," "Long Tall Shorty," "See Saw," and "Sookie Sookie." Have Mercy! The Songs of Don Covay -- a 2012 release from Ace that belongs in their ongoing series of songs and productions from legendary artists -- rounds up 26 of these Covay compositions and, in their standard practice, they anchor the compilation with a couple of big hits (namely the Pickett and Franklin numbers, plus Chubby Checker's "Pony Time"), selecting some lesser-known versions of the aforementioned staples and digging up gems that rarely see circulation. Most of this lies firmly in southern soul territory, but there are enough oddities to keep this surprising: Connie Francis snaps her bubblegum on "Mr. Twister," Lena Horne brings some showbiz flair to "Love Bug," Arlene Smith gets bogged down in syrupy strings and corn on "Mon Cherie Au Revoir," Billy Fury is suitably melodramatic on "Letter Full of Tears," and Wanda Jackson takes her sandpaper to "There's a Party Goin' On," a blatant rewrite of "Let's Have a Party." These are the curiosities. The rest of the compilation offers a pretty perfect pairing of artist and song, whether it's the Wailers stomping on "Mercy Mercy" or Joe Tex easing through "She Said Yeah," and the diversity of the material here means all of Have Mercy! is a lasting testament to Covay's behind-the-stage strengths. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 029667050326
  • Shipping Weight: 0.23/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)