Jimmy Cliff Rebirth

23 ratings
Price: $9
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  XASD
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2012
  • Label: Hip-O Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.64
4 stars out of 5 -- "[I]t's the strongest case for the vitality of West Indian roots music that anyone has made in decades....Most of the originals are strong enough to pass as covers of classic jams."
Billboard (p.28) - "REBIRTH speaks to Cliff's participation in the history he describes at the same time that it clears a path forward. It pairs a vintage sound with fresh thoughts..."
Q (Magazine) - p.96
4 stars out of 5 -- "The 64-year-old singer's on top form vocally...with fiery calls for justice....A treat for all passing Jamaican audio buffs."


  • 1.World Upside Down
  • 2.One More
  • 3.Cry No More
  • 4.Children's Bread
  • 5.Bang
  • 6.Guns of Brixton
  • 7.Reggae Music
  • 8.Outsider
  • 9.Rebel Rebel
  • 10.Ruby Soho
  • 11.Blessed Love
  • 12.Ship is Sailing
  • 13.One More [Alternate Version]

Product Description:

Personnel: Kevin Bivona (guitar, piano); Tim Armstrong (guitar); James King (flute, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone); David Moyer, Liam Philpot (saxophone); Jordan Katz, Michael Bolger (trumpet, trombone); Dan Boer (organ); Scott Abels (drums); The Engine Room (percussion); Aimee Allen, Jordis Unga, Dash Hutton, Ashli Haynes, Nicki Bonner, Tim Hutton, Jean McClain (background vocals).
Audio Mixers: John Morrical; Kevin Bivona; Tim Armstrong.
Recording information: Canyon Hut, Los Angeles, CA (05/29/2011-05/31/2011); Sound Factory, Los Angeles, CA (05/29/2011-05/31/2011); Canyon Hut, Los Angeles, CA (06/06/2011-06/08/2011); Sound Factory, Los Angeles, CA (06/06/2011-06/08/2011); Canyon Hut, Los Angeles, CA (08/09/2011); Sound Factory, Los Angeles, CA (08/09/2011); Canyon Hut, Los Angeles, CA (11/07/2011-11/20/2011); Sound Factory, Los Angeles, CA (11/07/2011-11/20/2011); Canyon Hut, Los Angeles, CA (12/06/2011-12/09/2011); Sound Factory, Los Angeles, CA (12/06/2011-12/09/2011).
Photographers: Mark Seliger; Tom Sheehan .
If the reggae legend's 2004 effort Black Magic was like Frank Sinatra or Tony Bennett's Duets albums --late-era, star-filled, and somewhat flat -- Rebirth is Jimmy Cliff's American Recordings (Johnny Cash) or Praise & Blame (Tom Jones), where a veteran artist goes raw and relights the fire with the help of a kindred spirit/knowing producer. For Cash and Jones, it was Rick Rubin and Ethan Johns respectively, while here it's a bit of a surprise with Rancid frontman and Clash devotee Tim Armstrong delivering something well above the expected punky reggae party. "Guns of Brixton" is a natural, and Cliff's take on Rancid's "Ruby Soho" is a ska recreation to behold, but when the sometimes poptacular reggae singer dons a wild, Lee "Scratch" Perry persona for the carnival song "Bang" ("I came into this life, I came in with a bang/I'm living my life, I live it with a bang"), deep reggae fan Armstrong knows what to do, surrounding his man Upsetter-style with a whirling dervish of ska while adding a searing guitar solo as well. When the singer gets nostalgic on "Reggae Music" ("1962, Orange Street, Kingston Jamaica/I sang my song for Leslie Kong, he said.") the backing track is alive with that roots based magic and one drop power, yet Cliff's the one who seals the deal here and throughout the album, performing like a young buck while packing his years and wisdom into the songwriting. On that front, there's the Occupy Movement theme "World Upside Down" and the powerful single "One More", while the sweetness comes from the sentimental "Ship Is Sailing", a nautical metaphor so warm it could be slipped into a Jimmy Buffett set easily, even as the tinkling keyboards honor reggae legend Jackie Mittoo, thus nominating Armstrong's loving recreation as one of the most loved. It's a return to form and just what fans of Cliff's early work could ask for, but it's vital too, putting it on the man's top shelf, somewhere in the vicinity of The Harder They Come soundtrack and Wonderful World, Beautiful People. ~ David Jeffries

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 23 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Jimmy Cliff

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 35,958
  • UPC: 602537081004
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)