Rodney Crowell Rodney Crowell

Rodney Crowell
2 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  ZCCM 2463
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: American Beat


  • 1.Stars On The Water
  • 2.Just Wanna Dance
  • 3.She Ain't Going Nowhere
  • 4.Don't Need No Other Now
  • 5.Shame On The Moon
  • 6.Only Two Hearts
  • 7.Victim Or A Fool
  • 8.All You've Got To Do
  • 9.'Til I Gain Control Again
  • 10.Old Piper

Product Description:

Personnel: Rodney Crowell (acoustic guitar); Larry Willoughby, Rosanne Cash, Rosemary Butler (vocals); Emory Gordy, Albert Lee , Richard Bennett (acoustic guitar); Hank DeVito, Vince Gill (electric guitar); Bill Lamb, Phil Kenzie (horns); Tony Brown , Booker T. Jones (electric piano); Larrie Londin (drums).
At the time of his debut, it seemed as if Rodney Crowell would be the one to truly fill the void left in the wake of Gram Parsons' death -- from his soulful hybrid of country, rock and pop to Emmylou Harris' backing vocals. But by the time of his second recording, he was working with Ramones producer Craig Leon on 1980's But What Will the Neighbors Think, which put a much heavier emphasis on the rock and pop aspects of his music, and less on the country. With his self-titled third album -- the first to be self-produced -- the country began to get a little slicker (as it did industry wide), while the rock & roll became a bit more straightforward. It also contains some stelar talent: Memphis soul organist Booker T. Jones, guitarists Vince Gill and Albert Lee, and Rosanne Cash on harmony vocals. The record starts on a strong note with one of Crowell's finest, the impressionistic honky tonk of "Stars on the Water," before a Keith Sykes rocker, followed by a Guy Clark ballad, sets the up-and-down pace that would carry things the rest of the way. And while alternating lighthearted rock & roll numbers with more somber tracks such as Clark's "She Ain't Going Nowhere" or his own "Victim or a Fool" isn't necessarily a bad move, here it never really allows the record to settle into a steady flow -- especially when some of the up-tempo cuts feel like filler. On the other hand, new songs like "Shame on the Moon" or the aforementioned "Stars on the Water" and "Victim or a Fool" show that Crowell is still at the top of his game. Elsewhere, he gives the beautiful "'Til I Gain Control Again," one of the many terrific tunes from his back catalog (recorded prior to this by both Emmylou Harris and Waylon Jennings), a tasteful country-pop treatment that fits nicely with the best of his new material. As was the case with his previous two records, Crowell failed to make much headway for himself in the marketplace with this record, though it did continue his streak of spawning at least one major hit for another artist -- Bob Seger's cover of "Shame on the Moon," which went to number two on the charts. ~ Brett Hartenbach

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Rodney Crowell

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 86,852
  • UPC: 783722246320
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)