Jimmy Smith Definitive Collection

Definitive Collection
5 ratings
Price: $9.89
List Price: $10.98
You Save: $1.09 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  C83Q
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Verve


  • Buy for $1.291.Walk on the Wild Side
  • Buy for $1.292.Hobo Flats
  • Buy for $0.993.The Champ
  • Buy for $0.694.Blue Bash
  • 5.Slaughter on Tenth Avenue
  • Buy for $0.996.Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? (Part. 1)
  • Buy for $1.297.The Cat
  • Buy for $1.298.Blues in the Night
  • Buy for $1.299.Organ Grinder's Swing
  • Buy for $0.9910.I've Got My Mojo Working (Part. 1) - (single edit)
  • Buy for $0.9911.Night Train
  • 12.The Boss

Product Description:

Jimmy Smith's recordings for Verve Records have a certain appeal in commercial circles, among movie buffs, big-band fans, groove merchants, and those who simply enjoy a good soul-jazz organ combo. This collection of 12 tracks is programmed in chronological order on dates from 1962 to 1969. While not wholly definitive as the title suggests, there are many familiar themes here that Smith's devotees will find appealing unless you already own them. Most of the material is Oliver Nelson arranged rock 'em sock 'em orchestrated music. You get the familiar, without a doubt definitive big-band soul-jazz hit "Walk on the Wild Side," the less requisite show-off and campy "Slaughter on Tenth Avenue" and the dramatic, Austin Powers style groovy baby soul-jazz tune "Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?" The other tunes from Smith and Nelson are much more vital, including the truly essential blues groover "Hobo Flats," and the wonderful remake of "Night Train" with Wes Montgomery. Lalo Schifrin is the arranger for the boogaloo standard bearer "The Cat," and the lugubrious but ultimate "Blues in the Night." Some might wish this was an all-trio collection, as the add-ons, not centerpieces, are the club date takes of the hard bopper "The Champ," the immortal "Blues Bash," and as an afterthought "The Boss," unfortunately marred by crowd noise way up in the mix. They showcase Smith himself upfront and at his best. The clunker "I've Got My Mojo Working" has Smith attempting to sing -- not his strongest suit. Fans who have Smith's "Blue Note" recordings have options for a better mix. This collection scratches the surface, and is no more than simply OK. ~ Michael G. Nastos

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Jimmy Smith

Product Info

  • UPC: 602517561274
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)