Ojos De Brujo Techar¡ Live

Techar¡ Live
1 rating
12 copies available
Price: $17.08
List Price: $18.98
You Save: $1.90 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  C7Y4
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Six Degrees

Entertainment Reviews:

Dirty Linen - p.51
"Intense, passionate, and unbridled lunacy is this band's mission, and nowhere is this more evident than on this remarkable CD..."
Global Rhythm (Publication) (p.51) - "ODB is as tight as tight gets in performance....What results is a vivid collective celebration of life, completely in the moment, with a clenched fist held high in the air."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.110
3 stars out of 5 -- "The brass is Latin, the guitars and dancing Andalusian and the percussion from every corner of the planet."


  • Buy for $0.991.Respira
  • Buy for $0.992.Sultanas de Merkaillo
  • Buy for $0.993.Get up, Stand Up - (Live)
  • Buy for $0.994.Color
  • Buy for $0.995.Runali
  • Buy for $0.996.Silencio
  • Buy for $0.997.No Somos Maquinas
  • Buy for $0.998.Interludio Tabla
  • Buy for $0.999.Todo Tiende
  • Buy for $0.9910.Corre Lola Corre
  • Buy for $0.9911.Tanguillos Marineros
  • Buy for $0.9912.El Confort No Reconforta
  • Buy for $0.9913.Piedras vs. Tanques
  • Buy for $0.9914.Bailaores
  • Buy for $0.9915.Get up, Stand Up - (Studio Version)
  • Buy for $0.9916.Nana - (Remix Palyrria)

Product Description:

There is an increasing number of bands from a wide variety of countries and cultural traditions blending the sounds of their ethnic music with breakbeats and electronica. But Ojos de Brujo take a somewhat different tack. They embrace the sounds of modern technology, but use those sounds sparingly, like a spice in the mix of their cross-cultural Spanish/Gypsy/flamenco stew. In a live setting, their devotion to tradition (or traditions) is even more obvious -- as is their phenomenal technical skill and the almost punky energy they generate on-stage. What makes that energy even more exciting is the fact that they don't sacrifice elegance and complexity to achieve it; instead, they just play fast and hard and they clap really, really loudly. Notice, for example, the combination of a jaggedly complicated rhythm, gorgeous sung melody, cool muted trumpet, and turntable on "Respira" -- not to mention the speed-rap interlude courtesy of Daara J MC Faada Freddy. Notice also their excellent arrangement of Bob Marley's "Get Up, Stand Up" which, to their credit, has not a hint of reggae about it (the studio version included here as a bonus track is even better than the live one). And notice their tendency to sometimes go just a bit over the top when they bring in the Middle Eastern vocal elements; "Todo Tiende" and "Tanguillos Marineros" are both fine songs that are marred somewhat by irritatingly overwrought melismatics. Overall, though, Techar¡ Live is a thrilling document of one of the world's finest groups at work. ~ Rick Anderson

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Ojos De Brujo

Product Info

  • UPC: 657036114425
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)