The Spanish Harlem Orchestra United We Swing

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.8
5 ratings
13 copies available
List Price: $16.98
Your Price: $15.28
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  SIXD 1134

CD Details

  • Released: May 15, 2007
  • Label: Six Degrees

Entertainment Reviews:

Down Beat - p.66
4 stars out of 5 -- "Here, bandleader/pianist Oscar Hernandez leads his team into some wildly graceful attacks."
Dirty Linen - p.79
"Through 123 stellar cuts, they offer a crisp and hip-swiveling array of percussion and horns that don't let up, throwing in a rumba and a mambo for good measure."
Global Rhythm (Publication) (p.59) - "[T]he battery of congas, bongos and timbales here is never short of explosive, the horns and vocals soar without fail, and the controlled flamboyance of Hernandez's piano decorates buoyantly cool bass."


  • 1.SHO Intro
  • 2.Llego la Orquesta
  • 3.En el Tiempo del Palladium
  • 4.Se Formó la Rumba
  • 5.Sacala Bailar
  • 6.Ahora Si
  • 7.Que Bonito
  • 8.Salsa Pa'l Bailador
  • 9.Mujer Divina
  • 10.Soy Candela
  • 11.Plena con Sabor
  • 12.Danzon for My Father
  • 13.Late in the Evening / Tarde en la Noche

Product Description:

Spanish Harlem Orchestra: Ray de la Paz (vocals); Hector Colon (trumpet); Hector "Maximo" Rodriguez (bass guitar); Jorge Gonzalez (bongos); George Delgado, Pete Nater, Dan Reagan, Jimmy Bosch, John Walsh , Marcos Bermudez, Oscar Hernandez, Mitch Frohman, Willie Torres, Luisito Quintero.
Personnel: Willie Torres (vocals, guiro, maracas); Marcos Bermudez, Paul Simon (vocals); Mitch Frohman (flute, baritone saxophone); Pete Nater, Hector Colon, John Walsh (trumpet); Dan Reagan, Jimmy Bosch (trombone); Oscar Hernandez (piano); George Delgado (congas); Luisito Quintero (timbales); Kenny Baldwin (dancer).
Additional personnel: Paul Simon.
Audio Mixers: Dave Kowalski; Oscar Hernandez.
Recording information: Bennett Studios, Englewood, NJ (11/23/2006-11/26/2006).
Authors: Paul Simon; Rub?n Blades.
Photographers: Mikki Allen Willis; Jerry Lacay.
Arrangers: Oscar Hernandez; Jos? Febles; Gilbert Lopez; Angel Fernandez; Sonny Bravo.
With 2007's Grammy-nominated UNITED WE SWING, the Spanish Harlem Orchestra reinforces its revered reputation by offering up a lively set of salsa tunes. Led by pianist/arranger Oscar Hernandez, the horn-heavy New York City-based ensemble shines on exuberant tracks such as "Llego La Orquesta" and "Sacala Bailar," closing the album with a surprisingly simpactico collaboration with Paul Simon on his slice-of-city-life song, "Late in the Evening."

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.8
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 117,554
  • UPC: 657036113428
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item