Jill Scott Crates: Remix Fundamentals, Volume 1

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.7
12 ratings
19 copies available
List Price: $9.99
Your Price: $8.99
You Save: $1 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  HDB 111

CD Details

  • Released: June 26, 2012
  • Label: Hidden Beach


  • 1.Can't Explain [The Ca$e Boogie Mix] - (remix)
  • 2.Bedda at Home [The Rivera Mix] - (remix)
  • 3.Talk to Me [The 314 Mix] - (remix)
  • 4.Whatever [The Mr. Mig Powerful Love Radio Edit]
  • 5.Spring Summer Feeling [The Ron Trent Mix] - (remix)
  • 6.Come See Me [The B-Sharp Clubin Mix] - (remix)
  • 7.Slowly Surely [The Teddy Vee Remix] - (remix)
  • 8.Golden [B-Sharp Afro Centric Mix] - (remix)
  • 9.Brotha [The Inferno Mix] - (remix)
  • 10.A Long Walk [The Jazzy Jeff Redux] - (remix)
  • 11.Love Rain [The Key West Mix] - (remix)

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: DJ Alan King.
The three-volume Crates: Remix Fundamentals series made the score seven to three. That is, the Hidden Beach label released seven Jill Scott titles that were either compilations or live recordings, while only three studio albums of original material -- the Words and Sounds trilogy -- were issued. Scott fans could be forgiven for being skeptical about yet another round of Hidden Beach releases to follow the singer's departure to Warner Bros. Unsurprisingly, this first volume in the Crates series is a mixed bag. Ron Trent's atmospheric house mix of "Spring Summer Feeling" and Jazzy Jeff's casually funky version of "A Long Walk" (originally released in 2001) are the standouts, and they both do right by Scott's vocals. The sleek dance-pop "B-Sharp Clubin Mix" of "Come See Me," the work of Jacques Richmond and Bruce Walker, is surprisingly effective despite its radical departure from Scott's sound. Otherwise, listeners will need to go into this with an open mind, knowing that the majority of these mixes could not possibly substitute for the originals. ~ Andy Kellman

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.7
Based on 12 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Jill Scott

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 116,204
  • UPC: 897352002260
  • Shipping Weight: 0.19/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item