Bringing It All Back Home, Volume 3
by Various Artists

Bringing It All Back Home, Volume 3
2 ratings
Price: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  36HQX
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: February 1, 2011
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Valley


  • 1.Equinox - Davy Spillane
  • 2.You Couldn't Have Come at a Better Time - Luka Bloom
  • 3.Moran's Return - Nollaig Casey / Arty McGlynn / Noilaig Casey
  • 4.All Messed Up - Pierce Turner
  • 5.Glen Road to Carrick / The Wild Irish Man: Glen Road To Carrick / The Wild Irish Man - Seamus Glackin / Kevin Glackin / Paddy Glackin
  • 6.Thousands Are Sailing - Philip Chevron
  • 7.Cooler at the Edge - Sonny Condell
  • 8.Tunes - John Bowe / Roger Sherlock / Siobhan O'Donnell / Bobby Casey / Tom Nagle / Eilish Byrne
  • 9.Easter Snow - Liam O'Flynn / Catherine Ennis
  • 10.St¢r Mo Chro¡, A - Rita / Sara Keane
  • 11.Blue - An Emotional Fish / M ire N‚ Bhraon in
  • 12.T-Ais‚ir¡, An - N¢ir¡n N¡ Riain / The Monks OF Glenstall Abbey
  • 13.Don't Let Our Love Die - The Everly Brothers
  • 14.Operator - De Danann / Friend
  • 15.Carolanas Farwell to Music - Maire Ni Chathasaigh

Product Description:

Personnel: Sonny Condell (vocals, guitar); Dolores Keane, N¢ir¡n N¡ Riain, Bambi Jones, Mary Black, Maura O'Connell, Pam Johnson (vocals); Davy Spillane (whistling, Uilleann pipe); Anto Drennan, Luka Bloom, Philip Chevron, Arty McGlynn (guitar); Russ Barenberg (acoustic guitar); Albert Lee (electric guitar); Alec Finn (bouzouki, harmonica); Maire Ni Chathasaigh (harp); Mark O'Connor (mandolin); Frankie Gavin (fiddle, flute, piano); Seamus Glackin, Eileen Ivers, Kevin Glackin, Paddy Glackin (fiddle); Liam O'Flynn (Uilleann pipe); Pat Crowley (accordion); James Delaney (keyboards); Paul Moran (drums, percussion); Roderic Morris (percussion).
Liner Note Author: Nuala O'Connor.
Recording information: Dublin, Ireland; Ireland; Ringside Road Studios, Dublin, Ireland; United States Of America.
Unknown Contributor Roles: John Bowe; Luka Bloom; Bobby Casey.
Arrangers: Seamus Glackin; Kevin Glackin; Liam O'Flynn; Paddy Glackin ; Roger Sherlock; Arty McGlynn.
The 1991 five-hour television documentary Bringing It All Back Home, tracing the Irish cultural and population migrations across the world, ran on the BBC in England and in Ireland, and a two-CD soundtrack album was spun off from it. In 1999, producer Donal Lunny took the material, added some newly recorded and previously unissued performances, and put together three CDs for reissue, of which this is the third. While it hews to the same theme as the TV series and the first two volumes, combining traditional performances of traditional Irish tunes with more contemporary and diverse music that was influenced by Irish music, the balance here is more toward the older material. The Everly Brothers, An Emotional Fish, and Luka Bloom are among the contemporary acts contributing tracks, but there is much more here that looks back to Irish traditions than forward to Irish influence. There are interesting juxtapositions, to be sure: De Dannan & Friends tackle a gospel number, "Operator," in Harlem; and Rita and Sara Keane, traditional Irish singer Dolores Keane's aunts, perform "A St¢r Mo Chroi" in English as "Oh, love of my heart." But in general, the third volume of Bringing It All Back Home remains closer to home than its predecessors. ~ William Ruhlmann

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 618321501320
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)