Chucho Valdes Virtuoso

Price: $11.68
List Price: $12.98
You Save: $1.30 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  QR3Y
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: November 1, 2005
  • Label: La Escondida


  • 1.Balada Para Caridad y Emilio
  • 2.El Bolero
  • 3.Realidad
  • 4.Improvisacion
  • 5.Niebla
  • 6.Solamente una Vez
  • 7.Como Fue
  • 8.El Dia que Me Quieras
  • 9.Tu Me Acostumbraste
  • 10.Sentimental
  • 11.Tres Palabras
  • 12.El Manisero
  • 13.Dos Perlas y un Dolor
  • 14.Novia Mia
  • 15.Tu Mi Delirio

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Bladimir Zamora Cespedes.
It's not that Chucho Vald‚s' Virtuoso fails to dazzle -- this is the same swift-fingered Vald‚s who plunked and pounded so appealingly alongside Buena Vista Social Club, after all -- but it does take a couple of weird turns. The first several tracks land on unsuspecting ears like lullabies, the trouble there being not that they're overly gentle or soporific but that they lack a signature Cuban sound; skill goes on display at the expense of flavor. Later, when Vald‚s does let it rip alongside a more traditional, Buena Vista-style band, he is occasionally drowned out by the wailings of an overly emphasized jazz vocalist. But between these frustrations a cluster of rum-soaked winners spike through. Tuning way into "Sentimental" is like hitching a tear-stained ride to old Havana, and the weather-beaten charm of "El Manisero" couldn't be more distinctively, winningly Chucho-derived. ~ Tammy La Gorce

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Chucho Valdes

Product Info

  • UPC: 617465651823
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)