The Adventures The Sea of Love

The Sea of Love
Only 10 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $12.35 Limited Time Only
List Price: $13.99
You Save: $1.64 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  6E6K9
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 17, 2017
  • Originally Released: 1988
  • Label: Imports

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone
3 Stars - Good
Stereo Review - Performance "Riveting" / Recording "Good"


  • 1.Drowning in the Sea of Love
  • 2.Broken Land
  • 3.You Don't Have to Cry Anymore
  • 4.The Trip to Bountiful (When the Rain Comes Down)
  • 5.Heaven Knows Which Way
  • 6.Hold Me Now
  • 7.The Sound of Summer
  • 8.When Your Heart Was Young
  • 9.One Step From Heaven
  • 10.Broken Land [Acoustic Version]
  • 11.Don't Stand on Me
  • 12.Stay Away
  • 13.The Curragh of Kildare
  • 14.Drowning in the Sea of Love [Single Version]
  • 15.One Steo From Heaven [Extended Remix]
  • 16.Instant Karma
  • 17.Broken Land [Single Version]

Product Description:

Personnel: Eileen Gribben, Terry Sharpe, Soud Murphy (vocals); Pat Gribben (guitar); Andy Findon (tin whistle); Bob White (Uilleann pipe); Peter Vitesse, Jonathan Whitehead, Nick Glennie-Smith (keyboards); Paul Crowder (drums, background vocals); Murice Pert (percussion); Roland Kerridge (electronic percussion); Paul Fishman (keyboard programming); Stevie Lange, Billy Vanderpuye, David Field, Pete Smith, McCarthy Sisters, Katie Kissoon, Miriam Stockley, Brian Kennedy (background vocals).
Photographer: Tony Mascolo.
Soothing harmonies, ringing guitars, and lush synths are the inhabitants that swim in The Sea of Love, the sophomore effort by the Adventures. The shimmering, hummable pop the Adventures crafted on their first LP, Theodore and Friends, is furnished with a coat of studio polish as the band aims for an epic feel. In an attempt to beef up their sound, the group doesn't lose its grip on subtlety. The slicker production doesn't make their songs more appealing to commercial radio; it merely enhances their beauty. The choirboy vocals of Terry Sharpe are thrust into the front of the mix; the album exploits the fragility and strength of his voice, bringing them into focus. Sharpe's melancholy vocals on "Broken Land" captures the suffering caused by violent, religious strife in Ireland, Sharpe's country of birth. Accompanied by woeful keyboards and robust drums, he sings with profound sorrow as he observes the destruction around him and asks for peace. The warmth and clarity of his voice is comforting not only to the ears but to the heart as well. In "You Don't Have to Cry Anymore" and "The Sound of Summer," his soaring vocals lift the spirits without being saccharine. Sharpe's backup singers, Eileen Gribben and Spud Murphy, add even greater depth to his succulent harmonies. Musicianship throughout The Sea of Love is top-notch. Pat Gribben is a gifted guitarist, keenly aware of when to turn up the amps and when to strive for sparkling pop. The unyielding optimism of The Sea of Love probably won't suit cynics, but anybody with a craving for a feel-good album will have a king's feast. ~ Michael Sutton

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for The Adventures

Product Info

  • UPC: 5013929170131
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)