Wynonie Harris Lovin' Machine

Lovin' Machine
3 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $12.35 Limited Time Only
List Price: $13.99
You Save: $1.64 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  F4CF
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: April 29, 2002
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Ace Records UK

Entertainment Reviews:

Living Blues - 5/03, pp.96-7
"...Postwar R&B never swung harder than when Wynonie Harris was behind the mike..."
Mojo (Publisher) - 9/02, p.120
"...hits the spot like a shot of that good, good whiskey."


  • 1.Lovin' Machine
  • 2.Tremblin'
  • 3.Just Like Two Drops of Water
  • 4.I'll Never Give Up
  • 5.Bloodshot Eyes
  • 6.Here Comes the Night
  • 7.My Playful Baby's Gone
  • 8.Keep on Churnin' (Till the Butter Comes)
  • 9.Luscious Woman
  • 10.Married Women, Stay Married
  • 11.Night Train
  • 12.Rot Gut
  • 13.Do It Again, Please
  • 14.Adam Come and Get Your Rib
  • 15.Drinking Blues
  • 16.Wasn't That Good
  • 17.Nearer My Love to Thee
  • 18.Quiet Whiskey
  • 19.Down Boy Down
  • 20.Good Mambo Tonight
  • 21.Git With the Grits
  • 22.Song of the Bayou
  • 23.All She Wants to Do Is Mambo
  • 24.That's Me Right Now
  • 25.A Tale of Woe
  • 26.All Night Long

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Wynonie Harris, Syd Nathan.
Includes liner notes by Tony Collins.
This is a companion disc to Ace's earlier compilation, Women, Whiskey and Fish Tails, and likewise hones in on his 1950s output for King Records, the 26 tracks hailing from 1951-1957. Though the early part of that stretch found him continuing to land some R&B smashes with "Lovin' Machine" and his cover of Hank Penny's "Bloodshot Eyes" (both included on the disc), generally it marked the point at which he began his absence from the charts. Actually there's not much difference between this body of work and his salad days, other than the lack of many obvious hits from the git-go like "Good Rockin' Tonight." Harris' problem was that his brand of jump blues-cum-R&B had itself passed its peak, though he continued to be one of its best practitioners. This isn't recommended for those who just want one or two Harris anthologies; his most well-known sides from the late '40s, like "Good Rockin' Tonight," are not represented, and Rhino's Bloodshot Eyes best-of collection takes a chronologically wider and more selective view of his top work. Also, to be honest, Harris worked the same approaches over and over, and it's too much at once if mid-20th century jump blues/R&B isn't your main dish. All that said, it's a good roundup of sides that aren't as frequently anthologized (for the most part) as his biggest hits, and Harris does delve into some ballads and mild detours into the mambo ("Good Mambo Tonight," a bandwagon-hopping takeoff from "Good Rockin' Tonight") and weird funereal, near-spiritual blues ("Song of the Bayou"). The version of "Rot Gut" was previously unissued, and it's actually one of the better items, its hangover tale fitting well into the singer's usual persona. Note also that the final track, "All Night Long," is actually a 1952 single by the vocal group the Royals, with Harris singing the middle eight. ~ Richie Unterberger

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Wynonie Harris

Product Info

  • UPC: 029667184328
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)