Lowell Fulson The Final Kent Years

The Final Kent Years
Only 6 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $12.35 Limited Time Only
List Price: $13.99
You Save: $1.64 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  A6DA
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: May 21, 2002
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Ace Records Uk


  • 1.I'm a Drifter
  • 2.Funky Broadway
  • 3.Let's Go Get Stoned
  • 4.Push Me
  • 5.The Letter
  • 6.I Cried Like a Baby
  • 7.Feel So Bad
  • 8.Everyday I Have the Blues
  • 9.Mellow Together
  • 10.Going to Chicago
  • 11.Confessin' the Blues
  • 12.Tomorrow
  • 13.Blue Shadows
  • 14.Let's Talk It Over
  • 15.Worred Life
  • 16.Welcome Home
  • 17.All I Want Is for You to Love Me
  • 18.When Things Go Wrong (It Hurts Me Too)
  • 19.Love Her With a Feeling
  • 20.Your One Success Is on Me
  • 21.I Am Not Worried (Sittin' on Top of the World)
  • 22.Lovemaker
  • 23.Bending Like a Willow Tree
  • 24.Get the Cash and Let the Credit Go
  • 25.My Mind Is Trying to Leave Me

Product Description:

THE FINAL KENT YEARS compiles tracks from NOW! (1968) and LOVEMAKER (1978) and contains a rare single released in 1972.
Liner Note Author: Dick Shurman.
The last of Ace's three compilations devoted to Fulson's Kent product basically combines his late-'60s Now! album with his 1978 Lovemaker album, adding three unissued cuts and a 1972 single. Now! was actually comprised largely of 1967-1968 singles, and it's this material, which takes up the first half of the CD, that holds up best. It's loosey goosey late-'60s blues/soul crossover with a sassy attitude and adroit combinations of stinging blues guitar, strutting vocals, soulful horns, and organ, never heard better than on the opening "I'm a Drifter." Actually the Now! cuts sound better in this grouping than much of his slightly earlier '60s Kent stuff, because they're not as unduly repetitious, though they're filled out with cover versions of familiar tunes like "Funky Broadway," "Let's Go Get Stoned," and "Everyday I Have the Blues." Perhaps it wasn't cutting edge as far as late-'60s soul went, but it had some of the rawness of '50s electric blues and some of the slickness of late-'60s soul brass and B.B. King-like horn charts, and the combination usually clicked. Lovemaker, actually issued on the Big Town label (which like Kent was run by the Bihari Brothers), isn't as interesting. But it's respectable soul-blues, and not as inappropriately polished as the usual late-'70s recordings by blues veterans. The 1972 single "Let's Talk It Over" (aka "Come Back Baby")/"Worried Life" is passable, as are the three previously unissued tracks (including a remake of "Blue Shadows") that date from around the time of the Now! LP. ~ Richie Unterberger

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Lowell Fulson

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 128,514
  • UPC: 029667183123
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)