Saba Jidka: The Line

Jidka: The Line
1 rating
Price: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  A6CK
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: September 24, 2007
  • Label: Riverboat


  • 1.I Sogni (Dreams)
  • 2.Holo (Mum)
  • 3.Hanfarkaan (This Wind)
  • 4.Jidka (The Line)
  • 5.Le Temps Passe (Time Goes by)
  • 6.Manta (Today)
  • 7.Yenne Yenne (Everyone Has Their Own Duty)
  • 8.Furah (The Key)
  • 9.Je Suis Petite (I Am Little)
  • 10.Boqoroda Meskin (Pauper Queen)
  • 11.Melissa
  • 12.Huwauahuwa (Lullaby)

Product Description:

Saba: Tate Nsongan (vocals, acoustic guitar, bass instrument, percussion); Felix Moungara (vocals, background vocals); Marco Calliari (acoustic guitar); Lorenzo Corti (electric guitar); Martino Roberts, Josh Sanfelici, Federico Marchesano (bass instrument); Rosa Moreira (percussion); Suad Omar, Lao Kouyate (background vocals); Fabio Barovero.
Personnel: Lao Kouyate (vocals, kora); Lorenzo Corti (electric guitar); Fabio Barovero (accordion, keyboards, percussion, keyboard programming, drum programming).
Audio Mixers: Fabio Barovero; Josh Sanfelici.
Recording information: Gulp, Turin, Italy; Mulino Mause House, Turin, Italy; Orange Room, Turin, Italy.
Photographer: Alex Majoli.
Arranger: Fabio Barovero.
The debut from Somali-born, Italian-based actress and singer Saba is a quiet and surprising joy. It handily and easily mixes African music -- not just from Somalia, but also Cameroon and Senegalese kora -- with what's best called R&B lite, courtesy of Fabio Barovero, the founder of Italian world music band Mau Mau. It works very well indeed. The insistent riff on the title cut sounds like strict R&B, but listen again and you can hear Africa in it -- this is a record that changes your perspectives. Saba is at her best in her own language, a kind of Somali dialect, rather than when she occasionally slips into English, which sounds forced and unconvincing -- "Melissa" is a perfect example. Although the production can seem a little slick, there's a playful atmosphere to it all, and it connects the dots between Africa and American pop. It's easy to dismiss this is friendly Afro-pop, but there's more going on here. Whether it's a deliberate effort to merge forms or not, it creates something new and very satisfying. It's at its most rooted on "Furah," which brings in a griot voice and kora, but it's far from traditional, and the same applies to the percussion-fueled "Boqoroda Meskin." Saba herself has more African grit than American polish in her voice, which certainly helps propel the disc. At the same time, the music takes a lot of its cues from R&B -- just listen to the opening of "Je Suis Petite," for example. This is an album not just to move your feet and put a smile on your face, but to make you think, too. ~ Chris Nickson

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 605633004724
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)