Caravan Caravan & the New Symphonia

Caravan & the New Symphonia
12 ratings
Only 7 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $11.12 Limited Time Only
List Price: $12.99
You Save: $1.87 (14% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  R6DK
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: February 26, 2001
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Polygram UK


  • 1.Introduction By Alan Black
  • 2.Memory Lain Hugh Headloss
  • 3.The Dog The Dog Hes At It Again
  • 4.Hoedown
  • 5.Introduction
  • 6.The Love In Your Eye
  • 7.Mirror For The Day
  • 8.Virgin On The Ridiculous
  • 9.For Richard
  • 10.A Hunting We Shall Go

Product Description:

Personnel: Geoff Richardson (vocals, guitar, violin); Pye Hastings (vocals, guitar); John G. Perry (vocals); Skaila Kanga (harp); Colin Walker, Helen Liebmann (violin, cello); Liz Edwards, David Woodcock, Rita Eddowes, Godfrey Salmon, Cathy Weiss, Wilfred Gibson, Roy Gillard, Richard Studt, Gavyn Wright (violin); Donald McVay, Roger Chase, Jan Schlapp, Tony Harris (viola); Geoffrey Richardson (electric viola); Martin Robinson (cello); Jimmy Hastings (flute, alto saxophone); Geoff Perkins, Paul Beer (trombone); Terry Johns, Robin Davies (horns); Dave Sinclair (piano, electric piano, organ, keyboards, synthesizer); Richard Coughlan (drums); Morris Pert (congas, tamtam, timbales, flexatone); Robert Lindop, Helen Chappelle, Liza Strike, Tony Burrows (background vocals).
Liner Note Author: Mark Powell.
Recording information: Theatre Royal, Drury Lane (10/28/1973).
The newly mined creative energies that guided For Girls Who Grow Plump in the Night continued into the Caravan & the New Symphonia project. Fusing with a 39-piece orchestra is a daring move that pays off. The remastered CD includes over a half an hour of unissued material from Caravan, with and without the New Symphonia, during the same October 28, 1973 Theatre Royal concert. Subtitled "The Complete Concert," this performance captures Caravan at a creative zenith. The newly restored program commences with a brief introduction from BBC Radio's Alan Black. The band then presents three from For Girls Who Grow Plump in the Night: "Memory Lain, Hugh"/"Headloss" suite, "The Dog, the Dog, He's at It Again," and "Hoedown." This mini-set sparkles with the frenetic energy that a live audience will often provide. The intense interaction during the waning moments of "The Dog, the Dog, He's at It Again" allows Caravan to reach a whole different stratum. The second set features the orchestra with the band and commences with "Introduction," an orchestrated piece that leads into the very delicate preface of "The Love in Your Eye." The synergies truly begin to flow as the band weaves in and out of the orchestra. Pye Hastings composed two new pieces specifically for this recording: "Mirror for the Day" and the brilliant "Virgin on the Ridiculous"; the latter became a performance standard for Caravan. The remainder of the set features some of their most formidable performance numbers, including an emotive "For Richard." The newly restored encore, "A Hunting We Shall Go" is stunning in its scope and perfectly encapsulates what Caravan & the New Symphonia is really all about: allowing good music and good musicians the chance to be mutually superior. ~ Lindsay Planer

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 12 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Caravan

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 105,179
  • UPC: 042288296928
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)