Johnny Otis Johnny Otis Rock 'N Roll Hit Parade (2-CD)

Johnny Otis Rock 'N Roll Hit Parade (2-CD)
Price: $15.29
List Price: $16.99
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  R6CV
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: August 28, 2000
  • Label: Ace Records UK


  • 1.Honey Love - (with The Jayos)
  • 2.Sh-Boom (Life Could Be A Dream) - (with The Jayos)
  • 3.Earth Angel - (with The Jayos)
  • 4.Gee! - (with The Jayos)
  • 5.Sincerely - (with The Jayos)
  • 6.Midnight Creeper, The (Part 1) - (with Johnny Otis & His Orchestra)
  • 7.At My Front Door - (with The Jayos)
  • 8.Long Tall Sally - (with Johnny Otis & His Orchestra)
  • 9.Only You - (with The Jayos)
  • 10.One Mint Julep - (with The Jayos)
  • 11.Hey! Hey! Hey! Hey! - (with Johnny Otis & His Orchestra)
  • 12.Please Don't Leave Me - (with Johnny Otis & His Orchestra)
  • 13.Shake A Hand - (with Jeannie Barnes)
  • 14.Sexy Ways - (with The Jayos)
  • 15.Ko Ko Mo, I Love You So - (with Arthur Lee Maye & Mel Williams)
  • 16.Fever
  • 17.It's Love Baby - (with Harold Lewis)
  • 18.I Almost Lost My Mind - (with Prince Moreland)
  • 19.Midnight Creeper, The (Part 2) - (with Johnny Otis & His Orchestra)
  • 20.Good Lovin' - (with The Jayos)
  • 21.Teardrops From My Eyes - (with Jeannie Barnes)
  • 22.I Need You So - (with Prince Moreland)
  • 23.I Cried A Million Tears - (with Mel Williams)
  • 24.All Through The Night - (with Mel Williams)

Product Description:

Recorded in Hollywood, California. Includes liner notes by Ray Topping.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Liner Note Author: Ray Topping.
Recording information: Hollywood, CA.
Johnny Otis originally released a 12-song version of this CD in 1957 on his Dig label. That LP centered around the Jayos, a group assembled by Otis that at times included Richard Berry, Jesse Belvin, Mel Williams, Arthur "Lee" Mayes (a future Major Leaguer), Harold Lewis, Sonny Moore, Tony Allen, and others. Nobody brought anything resembling an original song to these sessions; practically all the tunes are remakes or, in some instances, covers, and even the few that aren't sound like something you heard before by someone else. Ace tacked on 12 more tracks (most previously unreleased) for a more thorough perspective of Otis' late-'50s empire. The Jayos do hits by the El Dorados, the Platters, the Drifters, the Penquins, Hank Ballard and the Midnighters, and others, and did them well, but what else would you expect from a lineup of vocal harmony superstars? The Johnny Otis Orchestra pumps out three tracks, and there are tunes by some So Cal singers that are unknown to those outside the region. Jeannie Barnes does tunes made famous by Faye Adams and Ruth Brown; Mel Williams duets with Arthur Lee Mayes on Gene and Eunice's "Ko Ko Mo, I Love You So"; Mayes solos on Little Willie John's "Fever. Tracks by Prince Moreland, Harold Lewis and Mel Williams fill out the interesting compilation. If you just like the original versions of songs this CD won't interest you. But if enjoy good music, regardless of who came first, you'll find this to be a fine collection of '50s R&B/doo wop. The original vinyl LP sells for around $500. ~ Andrew Hamilton

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Johnny Otis

Product Info

  • UPC: 029667177429
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)