Wynonie Harris Women, Whiskey & Fish Tails

Women, Whiskey & Fish Tails
1 rating
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Sale: $16.19
SUPER SAVINGS: $13.17 Limited Time Only
List Price: $17.99
You Save: $4.82 (27% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  XCEX
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: September 1, 1993
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Ace Records UK


  • 1.Greyhound
  • 2.The Deacon Don't Like It
  • 3.Christina
  • 4.Shake That Thing
  • 5.Don't Take My Whiskey Away
  • 6.Drinkin' Sherry Wine
  • 7.Fish Tail Blues
  • 8.Big Old Country Fool
  • 9.Shotgun Wedding
  • 10.Wine Wine Sweet Wine
  • 11.Git to Gittin' Baby
  • 12.Mr. Dollar
  • 13.Bad News Baby (There'll Be No Rockin' Tonight)
  • 14.Bring It Back
  • 15.I Don't Know Where to Go
  • 16.Man's Best Friend
  • 17.Keep-a-Talking
  • 18.Please Louise
  • 19.I Get a Thrill
  • 20.There's No Substitute for Love
  • 21.Mama Your Daughter Done Lied on Me

Product Description:

WOMEN, WHISKEY AND FISH TAILS features 21 previously unreleased tracks Harris recorded for the King label in the late 1940's.
Personnel: Wynonie Harris (vocals, drums); Bill Johnson, Clarence Kenner, Kenny Burrell, Les Spann, Mickey Baker (guitar); Hilton Jefferson (alto saxophone); Maxwell Lucas (tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone); David "Bubba" Brooks, Robert Darby, Fred Clark , Lowell Hastings, Rufus Gore, Hal Singer, Wesley Brooks, David Van Dyke, Red Prysock (tenor saxophone); Walter Hiles, Leslie Johnakins (baritone saxophone); Frank Humphries, Tommy Purkson (trumpet); Cornelius Tate (trombone); Eddie Smith , Kelly Owens, Sir Charles Thompson, Sonny Thompson (piano); Gordon "Specs" Powell, Rossiere "Shadow" Wilson, Isaac Cole, Steve Boswell, Edison Gore, Calvin Shields, Bill Warren, Philip Paul (snare drum).
Liner Note Author: Tony Collins.
Recording information: Cincinnati, OH (11/07/1952-07/17/1957); Fulton Studio, New York, NY (11/07/1952-07/17/1957).
Ace's Women, Whiskey & Fish Tails spotlights some of the famous blues-shouter's latter-day work (1952-1957) for independent R&B label King. Now joined by Ace's '50s-centric Harris survey, Lovin' Machine, this 21-track disc takes the somewhat more obscure path through the catalog, substituting the still-electric likes of "Greyhound" and "Drinkin' Sherry Wine" for chart hit "Bloodshot Eyes" and the classic alcoholism narrative "Drinkin' Blues." Far from just an artist in repose, though, Harris is in top form for most of it, especially on the gospel-infused "The Deacon Don't Like It" and collection standout "Shake That Thing." The Ace titles are best left to listeners looking for a second roundup, while newcomers probably will want to first check out survey discs on Rhino or the chronologically minded Classics label for more of Harris' essential early hits and sides ("Good Rockin' Tonight"). ~ Stephen Cook

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Wynonie Harris

Product Info

  • UPC: 029667145725
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)