The Everly Brothers Songs Our Daddy Taught Us

Songs Our Daddy Taught Us
19 ratings
SUPER SAVINGS: $9.90 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.99
You Save: $2.09 (17% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  EV8Y
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: November 1, 1990
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Ace Records UK


  • 1.Roving Gambler
  • 2.Down in the Willow Garden
  • 3.Long Time Gone
  • 4.Lightning Express
  • 5.That Silver Haired Daddy of Mine
  • 6.Who's Gonna Show Your Pretty Little Feet?
  • 7.Barbara Allen
  • 8.Oh So Many Years
  • 9.I'm Here to Get My Baby Out of Jail
  • 10.Rockin' Alone (In an Old Rockin' Chair)
  • 11.Kentucky
  • 12.Put My Little Shoes Away

Product Description:

The Everly Brothers: Don Everly, Phil Everly (vocals, guitar).
Recorded at RCA Victor Studios, Nashville, Tennessee between April 13 & 17, 1958. Includes original release liner notes by Hugh Cherry.
The Everly Brothers are probably best remembered for their early days. As Phil and Don Everly matured, their voices, quite naturally, lost some of the innocence and boyish charm heard on their 1950s recordings, but thankfully, that magnificent period in their careers is captured on this collection of folk classics.
On SONGS OUR DADDY TAUGHT US, the boys perform 12 tunes inspired by their father, guitarist Ike Everly, who, in his day, was considered one of the finest mountain musicians in Kentucky. (Merle Travis was a big fan of the senior Everly.) Concentrating on Appalachian folk tunes, the brothers perform in a stripped-down context, with only their beautiful, silky tenor voices and the strum of a soft acoustic guitar. The album features timeless renditions of "That Silver Haired Daddy of Mine," a song made famous by Gene Autry, and "Kentucky," an endearing homage to the Everlys' home state. In addition, three traditional songs on this outing were tastefully arranged by the elder Everly, namely "Who's Gonna Shoe Your Pretty Little Feet," "Barbara Allen," and "Put My Little Shoes Away."

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 19 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for The Everly Brothers

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 48,532
  • UPC: 029667107525
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the Pop / Rock genre:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)